Shell Bay

Branksome to Swanage walk

09-Sep-18 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk73 walkicon

Studland Bay

Branksome to Swanage walk

09-Sep-18 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk73 walkicon

DSCF2979

11-Aug-09 • Andrew Murphy

DSCF2981

11-Aug-09 • Andrew Murphy

DSCF2983

11-Aug-09 • Andrew Murphy

DSCF2985

11-Aug-09 • Andrew Murphy

DSCF2986

11-Aug-09 • Andrew Murphy

South West Coast Path : Branksome to Swanage or Corfe Castle walk

Lovely Coastal walk starting with a busy prom, then a short ferry crossing to start the South West Coast Path along Studland Bay (a sandy beach), past Old Harry (cliffs) to Swanage, a seaside resort. Optional ridge walk ending to Corfe Castle. Return by bus.

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Dorset

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Tue, 26-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Wed, 27-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Thu, 28-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Fri, 29-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1% 0%
Sat, 30-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% 3% 2%
Sun, 31-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Mon, 01-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 3% 4% 5% 4% 3% 2% 0% 0%
Tue, 02-Apr

Sun : rise: 06:00, set: 18:32. Civil Twilight gives an extra 33 to 48 mins of useful light for walking.

Moon : You also need to check if moon's up at the time of your walk, how full it is, and how cloudy it is.

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Mostly dry with warm sunny spells this week.

Today:

After a bright and chilly start, it will stay dry with plenty of sunshine today. Cloud may increase a little in the afternoon, but there will still be long warm spells of sunshine. Maximum Temperature 14C.

Tonight:

Staying dry overnight with clear spells. Temperatures will fall away to give a patchy frost and possibly a few mist and fog patches. Minimum Temperature -1C.

Wednesday:

Any mist and fog will quickly clear after a chilly start to leave another dry day with warm sunny spells. Maximum Temperature 15C.

Outlook for Thursday to Saturday:

The next few days will remain dry with light breezes and a mixture of cloud and sunny spells. Rather chilly overnight, but often rather warm by day.

Day 6 to 15

After a fine and dry start on Saturday, especially across the south, cloud and outbreaks of rain across central parts will move erratically southeastwards, becoming light and patchy as it does so. Further north, there'll be a mixture of sunny spells and blustery showers, these possibly turning wintry over the hills. Risk of gales in the north. There will probably be a good deal of dry and sunny weather on Sunday after a chilly start in most places. Becoming gradually more changeable into next week, with either a band of rain continuing to move southeast early on, before frontal systems arrive from the Atlantic later. Some warm spells in the south at first, otherwise temperatures are likely to be around normal, with some colder interludes possible, particularly in the north.

Day 16 to 30

At the start of this period it looks most likely that we will see changeable conditions as spells of wet and windy weather moving southeastwards across the UK. The most unsettled conditions are likely to be in the northwest, with more settled weather across southeastern areas. Temperatures should be near average for most. Towards the middle of the month confidence is low; however there is a possibility that we may see a return of more widely settled and drier weather. Some wetter interludes are still possible, particularly in the northwest. It could well turn warm at times, particularly in the south.

Met Office : SW : 2019-03-26T01:51:23

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Max. Ht. Moon Set % Full Dawn Sunrise Night Walk
Tue, 26-Mar 18:32 19:05 01:15 after dawn 67% 05:24 05:57
Wed, 27-Mar 18:33 19:06 02:13 after dawn 57% 05:22 05:55
Thu, 28-Mar 18:35 19:08 03:03 after dawn 50% 05:20 05:53
Fri, 29-Mar 18:37 19:10 03:44 after dawn 37% 05:18 05:51
Sat, 30-Mar 18:38 19:11 05:18 after dawn 29% 06:15 06:49
Sun, 31-Mar 19:40 20:13 05:46 after dawn 21% 06:13 06:46
Mon, 01-Apr 19:41 20:15 06:10 after dawn 14% 06:11 06:44
Tue, 02-Apr 19:43 20:16 8% 06:08 06:42
Wed, 03-Apr 19:45 20:18 4% 06:06 06:40
Thu, 04-Apr 19:46 20:20 1% 06:04 06:38
Fri, 05-Apr 19:48 20:22 0% 06:02 06:35
Sat, 06-Apr 19:50 20:23 before dusk 21:02 1% 05:59 06:33
Sun, 07-Apr 19:51 20:25 before dusk 22:12 5% 05:57 06:31
Mon, 08-Apr 19:53 20:27 before dusk 23:23 10% 05:55 06:29
Tue, 09-Apr 19:54 20:28 before dusk 00:33 17% 05:53 06:27
Wed, 10-Apr 19:56 20:30 before dusk 01:40 25% 05:50 06:24
Thu, 11-Apr 19:58 20:32 before dusk 02:41 35% 05:48 06:22
Fri, 12-Apr 19:59 20:34 before dusk 03:34 50% 05:46 06:20
Sat, 13-Apr 20:01 20:35 before dusk 04:17 58% 05:44 06:18
Sun, 14-Apr 20:02 20:37 before dusk 21:18 04:53 69% 05:41 06:16
Mon, 15-Apr 20:04 20:39 before dusk 22:13 05:23 79% 05:39 06:14 after dusk
Tue, 16-Apr 20:06 20:41 before dusk 23:07 after dawn 88% 05:37 06:12 all night
Wed, 17-Apr 20:07 20:42 before dusk 00:00 after dawn 94% 05:35 06:10 all night
Thu, 18-Apr 20:09 20:44 before dusk 00:52 after dawn 98% 05:32 06:08 all night
Fri, 19-Apr 20:11 20:46 before dusk 01:44 after dawn 100% 05:30 06:06 all night
Sat, 20-Apr 20:12 20:48 21:33 02:36 after dawn 99% 05:28 06:04 before dawn
Sun, 21-Apr 20:14 20:50 22:48 03:29 after dawn 95% 05:26 06:02 before dawn
Mon, 22-Apr 20:15 20:51 23:59 04:21 after dawn 89% 05:24 06:00 before dawn
Tue, 23-Apr 20:17 20:53 01:03 05:14 after dawn 82% 05:22 05:58 before dawn
Wed, 24-Apr 20:19 20:55 01:57 after dawn 73% 05:19 05:56
Thu, 25-Apr 20:20 20:57 02:42 after dawn 64% 05:17 05:54
Fri, 26-Apr 20:22 20:58 03:19 after dawn 50% 05:15 05:52
Sat, 27-Apr 20:23 21:00 03:50 after dawn 45% 05:13 05:50
Sun, 28-Apr 20:25 21:02 04:15 after dawn 36% 05:11 05:48
Mon, 29-Apr 20:27 21:04 04:37 after dawn 27% 05:09 05:46
Tue, 30-Apr 20:28 21:05 04:57 after dawn 19% 05:07 05:44
Wed, 01-May 20:30 21:07 12% 05:05 05:43
Thu, 02-May 20:31 21:09 7% 05:03 05:41
Fri, 03-May 20:33 21:11 3% 05:01 05:39
Sat, 04-May 20:35 21:13 0% 04:59 05:37
Sun, 05-May 20:36 21:14 0% 04:57 05:35
Mon, 06-May 20:38 21:16 before dusk 22:24 3% 04:55 05:34
Tue, 07-May 20:39 21:18 before dusk 23:34 7% 04:53 05:32
Wed, 08-May 20:41 21:20 before dusk 00:38 14% 04:52 05:30
Thu, 09-May 20:42 21:21 before dusk 01:34 22% 04:50 05:29
Fri, 10-May 20:44 21:23 before dusk 02:19 32% 04:48 05:27
Sat, 11-May 20:45 21:25 before dusk 02:57 43% 04:46 05:26
Sun, 12-May 20:47 21:27 before dusk 03:27 50% 04:44 05:24
Mon, 13-May 20:48 21:28 before dusk 03:53 66% 04:43 05:23
Tue, 14-May 20:50 21:30 before dusk 21:52 04:17 76% 04:41 05:21 after dusk
Wed, 15-May 20:51 21:32 before dusk 22:43 after dawn 85% 04:39 05:20 all night
Thu, 16-May 20:53 21:33 before dusk 23:33 after dawn 93% 04:38 05:18 all night
Fri, 17-May 20:54 21:35 before dusk 00:24 after dawn 97% 04:36 05:17 all night
Sat, 18-May 20:56 21:37 before dusk 01:16 after dawn 100% 04:35 05:16 all night
Sun, 19-May 20:57 21:38 21:40 02:09 after dawn 100% 04:33 05:14 before dawn
Mon, 20-May 20:58 21:40 22:48 03:02 after dawn 97% 04:32 05:13 before dawn
Tue, 21-May 21:00 21:42 23:47 03:55 after dawn 93% 04:30 05:12 before dawn
Wed, 22-May 21:01 21:43 00:38 after dawn 87% 04:29 05:11 before dawn
Thu, 23-May 21:02 21:45 01:19 after dawn 79% 04:27 05:10 before dawn
Fri, 24-May 21:04 21:46 01:52 after dawn 71% 04:26 05:08
Sat, 25-May 21:05 21:48 02:19 after dawn 62% 04:25 05:07
Sun, 26-May 21:06 21:49 02:42 after dawn 50% 04:23 05:06
Mon, 27-May 21:07 21:51 03:03 after dawn 43% 04:22 05:05
Tue, 28-May 21:08 21:52 03:22 after dawn 34% 04:21 05:05
Wed, 29-May 21:10 21:53 03:41 after dawn 25% 04:20 05:04
Thu, 30-May 21:11 21:55 04:01 after dawn 17% 04:19 05:03
Fri, 31-May 21:12 21:56 10% 04:18 05:02
Sat, 01-Jun 21:13 21:57 5% 04:17 05:01
Sun, 02-Jun 21:14 21:58 1% 04:16 05:01
Mon, 03-Jun 21:15 22:00 0% 04:15 05:00
Tue, 04-Jun 21:16 22:01 before dusk 22:28 1% 04:15 04:59
Wed, 05-Jun 21:17 22:02 before dusk 23:29 5% 04:14 04:59
Thu, 06-Jun 21:18 22:03 before dusk 00:19 12% 04:13 04:58
Fri, 07-Jun 21:19 22:04 before dusk 01:00 20% 04:13 04:58
Sat, 08-Jun 21:19 22:05 before dusk 01:32 30% 04:12 04:57
Sun, 09-Jun 21:20 22:06 before dusk 02:00 41% 04:12 04:57
Mon, 10-Jun 21:21 22:07 before dusk 02:23 50% 04:11 04:57
Tue, 11-Jun 21:22 22:07 before dusk 02:46 64% 04:11 04:56
Wed, 12-Jun 21:22 22:08 before dusk 03:08 74% 04:10 04:56
Thu, 13-Jun 21:23 22:09 before dusk 22:18 03:32 83% 04:10 04:56 after dusk
Fri, 14-Jun 21:24 22:09 before dusk 23:08 03:58 91% 04:10 04:56 after dusk
Sat, 15-Jun 21:24 22:10 before dusk 00:00 after dawn 96% 04:10 04:56 all night
Sun, 16-Jun 21:24 22:11 before dusk 00:52 after dawn 99% 04:10 04:56 all night
Mon, 17-Jun 21:25 22:11 before dusk 01:45 after dawn 100% 04:10 04:56 all night
Tue, 18-Jun 21:25 22:11 22:30 02:37 after dawn 99% 04:10 04:56 before dawn
Wed, 19-Jun 21:26 22:12 23:15 03:28 after dawn 96% 04:10 04:56 before dawn
Thu, 20-Jun 21:26 22:12 23:52 after dawn 91% 04:10 04:56 before dawn
Fri, 21-Jun 21:26 22:12 00:22 after dawn 84% 04:10 04:56 before dawn
Sat, 22-Jun 21:26 22:12 00:46 after dawn 77% 04:10 04:57 before dawn
Sun, 23-Jun 21:26 22:13 01:08 after dawn 68% 04:11 04:57
Mon, 24-Jun 21:27 22:13 01:27 after dawn 59% 04:11 04:57
Tue, 25-Jun 21:27 22:13 01:46 after dawn 50% 04:12 04:58
Wed, 26-Jun 21:27 22:13 02:05 after dawn 40% 04:12 04:58
Thu, 27-Jun 21:26 22:12 02:25 after dawn 31% 04:13 04:59
Fri, 28-Jun 21:26 22:12 02:48 after dawn 22% 04:13 04:59
Sat, 29-Jun 21:26 22:12 03:17 after dawn 14% 04:14 05:00
Sun, 30-Jun 21:26 22:12 03:53 after dawn 7% 04:15 05:00
Mon, 01-Jul 21:26 22:11 2% 04:15 05:01
Tue, 02-Jul 21:25 22:11 0% 04:16 05:02
Wed, 03-Jul 21:25 22:10 before dusk 22:12 1% 04:17 05:02

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 10% of the illumination of a full moon.
  • Actuall times will vary a few minutes, (i) as these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory