DSCF0986

Converted oast house, Salmans Manor

19-Jun-09 • Sean O'Neill

banner, swcwalk78, swcwalk92, swcwalks

DSCF0986

Converted oast house, Salmans Manor

19-Jun-09 • Sean O'Neill

banner, swcwalk78, swcwalk92, swcwalks

DSCF1181

Hole Cottage near Markbeech

20-Jun-09 • Sean O'Neill

swcwalk78, swcwalks, walkicon

1005300146

Penshurst Place

30-May-10 • Sean O'Neill

swcwalk78, swcwalk92, swcwalks, walkicon

1005300146

Penshurst Place

30-May-10 • Sean O'Neill

swcwalk78, swcwalk92, swcwalks, walkicon

DSCF1001

Leicester Square, Penshurst

19-Jun-09 • Sean O'Neill

swcwalk78, swcwalk92, swcwalks

DSCF1002

St John the Baptist Church, Penshurst

19-Jun-09 • Sean O'Neill

swcwalk78, swcwalks

Cowden to Hever walk

A contrast between a remote part of the Weald and three attractive and popular Kent villages

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Kent

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Sun, 24-Mar
Mon, 25-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Tue, 26-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Wed, 27-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Thu, 28-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Fri, 29-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Sat, 30-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 2% 2% 3% 3% 4% 3% 3%
Sun, 31-Mar 0% 0% 0% 3% 3% 3% 2% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%

Sun : rise: 05:53, set: 18:17. Civil Twilight gives an extra 33 to 48 mins of useful light for walking.

Moon : You also need to check if moon's up at the time of your walk, how full it is, and how cloudy it is.

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Cloudier for a time overnight, breezier. Monday, fine and dry.

This Evening and Tonight:

Clear spells at first and later. Cloudier conditions passing south overnight, with the odd shower, and a more noticeable breeze developing, especially towards Kent. Turning chilly but any grass frost limited to the most sheltered spots. Minimum Temperature 3C.

Monday:

A chilly start but becoming pleasantly warm by afternoon in long sunny spells. Patchy cloud mainly towards the Kent coast, where the brisk breeze should ease later. Maximum Temperature 14C.

Outlook for Tuesday to Thursday:

A dry, settled period. Bright or sunny spells but also rather cloudy at times. Pleasantly warm by day after some chilly starts. Some early fog patches possible.

Day 6 to 15

On Friday and Saturday settled weather continues to prevail across central and southern parts, bringing dry but often cloudy weather. Any rain is likely to be confined to the north and northwest where it may be windy with a risk of gales. Going through the following week, many areas are likely to turn more generally unsettled. Cloudier, wetter and breezier conditions across the northwest are likely to move southeastwards at times, but tend to fragment as they do so, meaning relatively little rain for parts of the southeast. Brighter, showery interludes will also affect the north, with the showers bringing some hill snow here. Some warm spells in the south at first, otherwise temperatures are likely be around normal, with some colder interludes possible, particularly in the north.

Day 16 to 30

At the start of this period it looks most likely that we will see changeable conditions as spells of wet and windy weather moving southeastwards across the UK. The most unsettled conditions are likely to be in the northwest, with more settled weather across southeastern areas. Temperatures should be near average for most. Towards the middle of the month confidence is low; however there is a possibility that we may see a return of more widely settled and drier weather. Some wetter interludes are still possible, particularly in the northwest. It could well turn warm at times, particularly in the south.

Met Office : SE : 2019-03-24T13:05:54

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Max. Ht. Moon Set % Full Dawn Sunrise Night Walk
Sun, 24-Mar 18:17 18:50 22:47 03:38 after dawn 85% 05:17 05:50 before dawn
Mon, 25-Mar 18:19 18:52 23:59 04:30 after dawn 76% 05:15 05:48 before dawn
Tue, 26-Mar 18:20 18:54 01:05 after dawn 67% 05:12 05:46
Wed, 27-Mar 18:22 18:56 02:04 after dawn 57% 05:10 05:43
Thu, 28-Mar 18:24 18:57 02:53 after dawn 50% 05:08 05:41
Fri, 29-Mar 18:25 18:59 03:34 after dawn 37% 05:05 05:39
Sat, 30-Mar 18:27 19:01 05:08 after dawn 29% 06:03 06:37
Sun, 31-Mar 19:29 20:02 05:36 after dawn 21% 06:01 06:34
Mon, 01-Apr 19:30 20:04 14% 05:58 06:32
Tue, 02-Apr 19:32 20:06 8% 05:56 06:30
Wed, 03-Apr 19:34 20:08 4% 05:54 06:28
Thu, 04-Apr 19:35 20:09 1% 05:51 06:25
Fri, 05-Apr 19:37 20:11 0% 05:49 06:23
Sat, 06-Apr 19:39 20:13 before dusk 20:51 1% 05:47 06:21
Sun, 07-Apr 19:40 20:15 before dusk 22:01 5% 05:44 06:19
Mon, 08-Apr 19:42 20:16 before dusk 23:13 10% 05:42 06:17
Tue, 09-Apr 19:44 20:18 before dusk 00:23 17% 05:40 06:14
Wed, 10-Apr 19:45 20:20 before dusk 01:31 25% 05:38 06:12
Thu, 11-Apr 19:47 20:22 before dusk 02:32 35% 05:35 06:10
Fri, 12-Apr 19:49 20:24 before dusk 03:24 50% 05:33 06:08
Sat, 13-Apr 19:50 20:25 before dusk 04:08 58% 05:31 06:06
Sun, 14-Apr 19:52 20:27 before dusk 21:06 04:43 69% 05:28 06:04
Mon, 15-Apr 19:54 20:29 before dusk 22:02 05:12 79% 05:26 06:01 after dusk
Tue, 16-Apr 19:55 20:31 before dusk 22:56 after dawn 88% 05:24 05:59 all night
Wed, 17-Apr 19:57 20:33 before dusk 23:48 after dawn 94% 05:22 05:57 all night
Thu, 18-Apr 19:59 20:34 before dusk 00:40 after dawn 98% 05:19 05:55 all night
Fri, 19-Apr 20:00 20:36 before dusk 01:32 after dawn 100% 05:17 05:53 all night
Sat, 20-Apr 20:02 20:38 21:22 02:24 after dawn 99% 05:15 05:51 before dawn
Sun, 21-Apr 20:04 20:40 22:38 03:17 after dawn 95% 05:13 05:49 before dawn
Mon, 22-Apr 20:05 20:42 23:49 04:10 after dawn 89% 05:10 05:47 before dawn
Tue, 23-Apr 20:07 20:43 00:53 05:02 after dawn 82% 05:08 05:45 before dawn
Wed, 24-Apr 20:08 20:45 01:48 after dawn 73% 05:06 05:43
Thu, 25-Apr 20:10 20:47 02:33 after dawn 64% 05:04 05:41
Fri, 26-Apr 20:12 20:49 03:10 after dawn 50% 05:02 05:39
Sat, 27-Apr 20:13 20:51 03:40 after dawn 45% 05:00 05:37
Sun, 28-Apr 20:15 20:53 04:05 after dawn 36% 04:58 05:35
Mon, 29-Apr 20:17 20:54 04:27 after dawn 27% 04:55 05:33
Tue, 30-Apr 20:18 20:56 04:46 after dawn 19% 04:53 05:31
Wed, 01-May 20:20 20:58 12% 04:51 05:29
Thu, 02-May 20:22 21:00 7% 04:49 05:28
Fri, 03-May 20:23 21:02 3% 04:47 05:26
Sat, 04-May 20:25 21:03 0% 04:45 05:24
Sun, 05-May 20:26 21:05 0% 04:43 05:22
Mon, 06-May 20:28 21:07 before dusk 22:14 3% 04:41 05:20
Tue, 07-May 20:30 21:09 before dusk 23:24 7% 04:39 05:19
Wed, 08-May 20:31 21:11 before dusk 00:29 14% 04:38 05:17
Thu, 09-May 20:33 21:13 before dusk 01:24 22% 04:36 05:15
Fri, 10-May 20:34 21:14 before dusk 02:10 32% 04:34 05:14
Sat, 11-May 20:36 21:16 before dusk 02:47 43% 04:32 05:12
Sun, 12-May 20:37 21:18 before dusk 03:17 50% 04:30 05:11
Mon, 13-May 20:39 21:20 before dusk 03:42 66% 04:28 05:09
Tue, 14-May 20:40 21:21 before dusk 21:40 04:05 76% 04:27 05:08 after dusk
Wed, 15-May 20:42 21:23 before dusk 22:31 after dawn 85% 04:25 05:06 all night
Thu, 16-May 20:43 21:25 before dusk 23:21 after dawn 93% 04:23 05:05 all night
Fri, 17-May 20:45 21:27 before dusk 00:12 after dawn 97% 04:22 05:03 all night
Sat, 18-May 20:46 21:28 before dusk 01:04 after dawn 100% 04:20 05:02 all night
Sun, 19-May 20:48 21:30 21:30 01:57 after dawn 100% 04:18 05:01 before dawn
Mon, 20-May 20:49 21:32 22:38 02:50 after dawn 97% 04:17 04:59 before dawn
Tue, 21-May 20:51 21:33 23:38 03:43 after dawn 93% 04:15 04:58 before dawn
Wed, 22-May 20:52 21:35 00:28 after dawn 87% 04:14 04:57 before dawn
Thu, 23-May 20:53 21:36 01:09 after dawn 79% 04:13 04:56 before dawn
Fri, 24-May 20:55 21:38 01:42 after dawn 71% 04:11 04:55
Sat, 25-May 20:56 21:39 02:09 after dawn 62% 04:10 04:54
Sun, 26-May 20:57 21:41 02:32 after dawn 50% 04:09 04:53
Mon, 27-May 20:58 21:42 02:52 after dawn 43% 04:07 04:52
Tue, 28-May 21:00 21:44 03:11 after dawn 34% 04:06 04:51
Wed, 29-May 21:01 21:45 03:29 after dawn 25% 04:05 04:50
Thu, 30-May 21:02 21:47 03:48 after dawn 17% 04:04 04:49
Fri, 31-May 21:03 21:48 10% 04:03 04:48
Sat, 01-Jun 21:04 21:49 5% 04:02 04:47
Sun, 02-Jun 21:05 21:51 1% 04:01 04:46
Mon, 03-Jun 21:06 21:52 0% 04:00 04:46
Tue, 04-Jun 21:07 21:53 before dusk 22:19 1% 03:59 04:45
Wed, 05-Jun 21:08 21:54 before dusk 23:20 5% 03:59 04:45
Thu, 06-Jun 21:09 21:55 before dusk 00:10 12% 03:58 04:44
Fri, 07-Jun 21:10 21:56 before dusk 00:50 20% 03:57 04:44
Sat, 08-Jun 21:11 21:57 before dusk 01:22 30% 03:57 04:43
Sun, 09-Jun 21:12 21:58 before dusk 01:49 41% 03:56 04:43
Mon, 10-Jun 21:12 21:59 before dusk 02:12 50% 03:56 04:42
Tue, 11-Jun 21:13 22:00 before dusk 02:34 64% 03:55 04:42
Wed, 12-Jun 21:14 22:01 before dusk 02:56 74% 03:55 04:42
Thu, 13-Jun 21:14 22:01 before dusk 22:06 03:19 83% 03:55 04:42 after dusk
Fri, 14-Jun 21:15 22:02 before dusk 22:56 03:45 91% 03:55 04:42 after dusk
Sat, 15-Jun 21:15 22:03 before dusk 23:48 after dawn 96% 03:54 04:41 all night
Sun, 16-Jun 21:16 22:03 before dusk 00:40 after dawn 99% 03:54 04:41 all night
Mon, 17-Jun 21:16 22:04 before dusk 01:33 after dawn 100% 03:54 04:41 all night
Tue, 18-Jun 21:17 22:04 22:21 02:25 after dawn 99% 03:54 04:41 before dawn
Wed, 19-Jun 21:17 22:04 23:06 03:16 after dawn 96% 03:54 04:42 before dawn
Thu, 20-Jun 21:17 22:05 23:43 after dawn 91% 03:54 04:42 before dawn
Fri, 21-Jun 21:18 22:05 00:12 after dawn 84% 03:55 04:42 before dawn
Sat, 22-Jun 21:18 22:05 00:36 after dawn 77% 03:55 04:42 before dawn
Sun, 23-Jun 21:18 22:05 00:57 after dawn 68% 03:55 04:43
Mon, 24-Jun 21:18 22:05 01:16 after dawn 59% 03:56 04:43
Tue, 25-Jun 21:18 22:05 01:34 after dawn 50% 03:56 04:43
Wed, 26-Jun 21:18 22:05 01:53 after dawn 40% 03:57 04:44
Thu, 27-Jun 21:18 22:05 02:12 after dawn 31% 03:57 04:44
Fri, 28-Jun 21:18 22:05 02:35 after dawn 22% 03:58 04:45
Sat, 29-Jun 21:18 22:04 03:03 after dawn 14% 03:59 04:45
Sun, 30-Jun 21:17 22:04 03:39 after dawn 7% 03:59 04:46
Mon, 01-Jul 21:17 22:04 2% 04:00 04:47

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 10% of the illumination of a full moon.
  • Actuall times will vary a few minutes, (i) as these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory