View from Ranmore Common

Effingham to Westhumble walk

12-May-19 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks book2 walk14 walkicon

Polesden Lacey estate

13-Nov-04 • Peter Conway on Flickr

swcwalks book2 walk14

Ranmore Common

13-Nov-04 • Peter Conway on Flickr

swcwalks book2 walk14

Approaching Boxhill

13-Nov-04 • Peter Conway on Flickr

swcwalks book2 walk14

Polesden Lacey

Polesden Lacey in the distance. Effingham to Westhumble TO walk.

01-Apr-06 • msganching on Flickr

building walks englishcountryside book2 walk14 swcwalks tocw214

Poppies

Effingham Junction to Westhumble

01-Aug-08 • moontiger on Flickr

book2 walk14 swcwalks

Willing model 2

After posing for us, this goat ambled over to say hello. Effingham Junction to Westhumble

01-Aug-08 • moontiger on Flickr

book2 walk14 swcwalks

Effingham Junction to Westhumble walk

Polesden Lacy (dramatic NT country house) for lunch, steep woods opening out onto the North Downs Ridge, and an English vineyard for tea

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Surrey

Sunset: 19:33. Dusk: 20:06. Moon: 30% (dusk to 02:07)

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Mon, 30-Mar 3% 3% 3% 3% 3% 3% 3%
Tue, 31-Mar 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1%
Wed, 01-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1% 0% 0% 0%
Thu, 02-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 2% 2% 2% 3% 3% 2% 2% 2% 2%
Fri, 03-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Sat, 04-Apr 0% 0% 1% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 0% 0%
Sun, 05-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Mon, 06-Apr 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 2% 0%

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Met Office Forecast

South East England

Cloudy to start then showers, turning heavy at times

Today:

Generally rather cloudy to start with occasional showers developing later, perhaps with some heavier bursts at times. Breezy at times especially near the coast. Feeling cold. Maximum Temperature 8C.

Tonight:

Showers will tend to become more isolated as cloud breaks into the evening. Winds ease inland and skies becoming clear overnight. Minimum Temperature 2C.

Tuesday:

Clear and dry on Tuesday with plenty of fine spells in the afternoon. Cloud will develop in the evening however. Maximum Temperature 9C.

Outlook for Wednesday to Friday:

Cloudy with chance of a shower on Wednesday but some sunny spells at times. Breezy on Thursday with some outbreaks of rain. Overnight frosts possible. Cloudy with rain Friday.

Day 6-7 and Week 2:

Through the beginning of the period unsettled conditions across the north are likely to spread southwards. The northwest will see the worst of the weather with spells of heavy rain and strong winds interspersed with sunshine and showers whilst the southeast should stay drier and brighter. Towards the middle of April the weather may turn more changeable with a few days of rain and strong winds alternating with periods of sunshine and showers for much of the UK. Any showers may turn to a mix of sleet and snow over northern hills. Temperatures are likely to be around normal for the time of year. During any more settled periods, mild days are likely to give way to cold nights.

Week 3 and 4:

It is most likely that this period will see spells of unsettled conditions, bringing wet and windy weather, interspersed with quieter interludes of dry and settled weather. The unsettled periods could see showers turning wintry over the higher ground in the north. The settled periods should see plenty of clear spells and sunshine, with the driest conditions expected in the southeast of the UK. Temperatures should remain around normal but with cold night giving way to warmer days.

Met Office : South East England : 2020-03-30T01:36:02

Daylight : Surrey

Date Dawn Sunrise Sunset Dusk Day Length
Mon, 30-Mar 06:08 06:42 19:33 20:06 13:58
Tue, 31-Mar 06:06 06:39 19:34 20:08 14:02
Wed, 01-Apr 06:03 06:37 19:36 20:10 14:07
Thu, 02-Apr 06:01 06:35 19:38 20:12 14:11
Fri, 03-Apr 05:59 06:32 19:39 20:13 14:14
Sat, 04-Apr 05:56 06:30 19:41 20:15 14:19
Sun, 05-Apr 05:54 06:28 19:43 20:17 14:23
Mon, 06-Apr 05:52 06:26 19:44 20:19 14:27
Tue, 07-Apr 05:49 06:24 19:46 20:20 14:31
Wed, 08-Apr 05:47 06:21 19:48 20:22 14:35
Thu, 09-Apr 05:45 06:19 19:49 20:24 14:39
Fri, 10-Apr 05:42 06:17 19:51 20:26 14:44
Sat, 11-Apr 05:40 06:15 19:53 20:28 14:48
Sun, 12-Apr 05:38 06:13 19:54 20:29 14:51
Mon, 13-Apr 05:35 06:10 19:56 20:31 14:56
Tue, 14-Apr 05:33 06:08 19:58 20:33 15:00
Wed, 15-Apr 05:31 06:06 19:59 20:35 15:04
Thu, 16-Apr 05:29 06:04 20:01 20:37 15:08
Fri, 17-Apr 05:26 06:02 20:03 20:38 15:12
Sat, 18-Apr 05:24 06:00 20:04 20:40 15:16
Sun, 19-Apr 05:22 05:58 20:06 20:42 15:20
Mon, 20-Apr 05:20 05:56 20:08 20:44 15:24
Tue, 21-Apr 05:17 05:54 20:09 20:46 15:29
Wed, 22-Apr 05:15 05:52 20:11 20:47 15:32
Thu, 23-Apr 05:13 05:50 20:12 20:49 15:36
Fri, 24-Apr 05:11 05:48 20:14 20:51 15:40
Sat, 25-Apr 05:09 05:46 20:16 20:53 15:44
Sun, 26-Apr 05:06 05:44 20:17 20:55 15:49
Mon, 27-Apr 05:04 05:42 20:19 20:57 15:53
Tue, 28-Apr 05:02 05:40 20:21 20:58 15:56
Wed, 29-Apr 05:00 05:38 20:22 21:00 16:00
Thu, 30-Apr 04:58 05:36 20:24 21:02 16:04
Fri, 01-May 04:56 05:34 20:26 21:04 16:08
Sat, 02-May 04:54 05:32 20:27 21:06 16:12
Sun, 03-May 04:52 05:30 20:29 21:08 16:16
Mon, 04-May 04:50 05:29 20:30 21:09 16:19
Tue, 05-May 04:48 05:27 20:32 21:11 16:23
Wed, 06-May 04:46 05:25 20:34 21:13 16:27
Thu, 07-May 04:44 05:23 20:35 21:15 16:31
Fri, 08-May 04:42 05:22 20:37 21:17 16:35
Sat, 09-May 04:40 05:20 20:38 21:18 16:38
Sun, 10-May 04:38 05:18 20:40 21:20 16:42
Mon, 11-May 04:37 05:17 20:41 21:22 16:45
Tue, 12-May 04:35 05:15 20:43 21:24 16:49
Wed, 13-May 04:33 05:14 20:44 21:25 16:52
Thu, 14-May 04:31 05:12 20:46 21:27 16:56
Fri, 15-May 04:29 05:11 20:47 21:29 17:00
Sat, 16-May 04:28 05:09 20:49 21:31 17:03
Sun, 17-May 04:26 05:08 20:50 21:32 17:06
Mon, 18-May 04:25 05:06 20:52 21:34 17:09
Tue, 19-May 04:23 05:05 20:53 21:36 17:13
Wed, 20-May 04:21 05:04 20:55 21:37 17:16
Thu, 21-May 04:20 05:03 20:56 21:39 17:19
Fri, 22-May 04:18 05:01 20:57 21:41 17:23
Sat, 23-May 04:17 05:00 20:59 21:42 17:25
Sun, 24-May 04:16 04:59 21:00 21:44 17:28
Mon, 25-May 04:14 04:58 21:01 21:45 17:31
Tue, 26-May 04:13 04:57 21:03 21:47 17:34
Wed, 27-May 04:12 04:56 21:04 21:48 17:36
Thu, 28-May 04:11 04:55 21:05 21:50 17:39
Fri, 29-May 04:09 04:54 21:06 21:51 17:42
Sat, 30-May 04:08 04:53 21:07 21:52 17:44
Sun, 31-May 04:07 04:52 21:08 21:54 17:47
Mon, 01-Jun 04:06 04:52 21:09 21:55 17:49
Tue, 02-Jun 04:05 04:51 21:10 21:56 17:51
Wed, 03-Jun 04:04 04:50 21:11 21:57 17:53
Thu, 04-Jun 04:04 04:49 21:12 21:58 17:54
Fri, 05-Jun 04:03 04:49 21:13 21:59 17:56
Sat, 06-Jun 04:02 04:48 21:14 22:00 17:58
Sun, 07-Jun 04:02 04:48 21:15 22:01 17:59
Mon, 08-Jun 04:01 04:47 21:16 22:02 18:01
Tue, 09-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:17 22:03 18:03
Wed, 10-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:17 22:04 18:04
Thu, 11-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:18 22:05 18:06
Fri, 12-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:19 22:06 18:07
Sat, 13-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:19 22:06 18:07
Sun, 14-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:20 22:07 18:08
Mon, 15-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:20 22:08 18:10
Tue, 16-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:21 22:08 18:10
Wed, 17-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:21 22:08 18:10
Thu, 18-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:21 22:09 18:11
Fri, 19-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:22 22:09 18:11
Sat, 20-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:22 22:09 18:11
Sun, 21-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:22 22:10 18:11
Mon, 22-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:22 22:10 18:11
Tue, 23-Jun 03:59 04:47 21:22 22:10 18:11
Wed, 24-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:23 22:10 18:10
Thu, 25-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:22 22:10 18:10
Fri, 26-Jun 04:01 04:48 21:22 22:10 18:09
Sat, 27-Jun 04:01 04:48 21:22 22:09 18:08

Data: US Navy Observatory

Moonlight : Surrey

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Moon Set Dawn Sunrise % Full Max. Ht. Night Walk
Mon, 30-Mar 19:33 20:06 dusk 02:07 06:06 06:39 30% 17:45
Tue, 31-Mar 19:34 20:08 dusk 03:08 06:03 06:37 40% 18:38
Wed, 01-Apr 19:36 20:10 dusk 04:01 06:01 06:35 50% 19:33
Thu, 02-Apr 19:38 20:12 dusk 04:45 05:59 06:32 61% 20:29
Fri, 03-Apr 19:39 20:13 dusk 05:21 05:56 06:30 72% 21:26
Sat, 04-Apr 19:41 20:15 dusk 05:50 05:54 06:28 81% 22:22 after dusk
Sun, 05-Apr 19:43 20:17 dusk dawn 05:52 06:26 89% 23:18 all night
Mon, 06-Apr 19:44 20:19 dusk dawn 05:49 06:24 96% 00:12 all night
Tue, 07-Apr 19:46 20:20 dusk dawn 05:47 06:21 99% 01:06 all night
Wed, 08-Apr 19:48 20:22 20:25 dawn 05:45 06:19 100% 02:00 before dawn
Thu, 09-Apr 19:49 20:24 21:52 dawn 05:42 06:17 97% 02:56 before dawn
Fri, 10-Apr 19:51 20:26 23:18 dawn 05:40 06:15 92% 03:52 before dawn
Sat, 11-Apr 19:53 20:28 00:38 dawn 05:38 06:13 84% 04:49 before dawn
Sun, 12-Apr 19:54 20:29 01:49 dawn 05:35 06:10 75% 05:46 before dawn
Mon, 13-Apr 19:56 20:31 02:48 dawn 05:33 06:08 65% 06:42
Tue, 14-Apr 19:58 20:33 03:35 dawn 05:31 06:06 50% 07:35
Wed, 15-Apr 19:59 20:35 04:11 dawn 05:29 06:04 45% 08:26
Thu, 16-Apr 20:01 20:37 04:39 dawn 05:26 06:02 35% 09:13
Fri, 17-Apr 20:03 20:38 05:02 dawn 05:24 06:00 26% 09:57
Sat, 18-Apr 20:04 20:40 05:20 dawn 05:22 05:58 18% 10:40
Sun, 19-Apr 20:06 20:42 05:20 05:56 12%
Mon, 20-Apr 20:08 20:44 05:17 05:54 6%
Tue, 21-Apr 20:09 20:46 05:15 05:52 3%
Wed, 22-Apr 20:11 20:47 05:13 05:50 1%
Thu, 23-Apr 20:12 20:49 05:11 05:48 0%
Fri, 24-Apr 20:14 20:51 dusk 21:45 05:09 05:46 2% 14:07
Sat, 25-Apr 20:16 20:53 dusk 22:53 05:06 05:44 5% 14:53
Sun, 26-Apr 20:17 20:55 dusk 00:01 05:04 05:42 10% 15:42
Mon, 27-Apr 20:19 20:57 dusk 01:04 05:02 05:40 17% 16:34
Tue, 28-Apr 20:21 20:58 dusk 01:59 05:00 05:38 26% 17:27
Wed, 29-Apr 20:22 21:00 dusk 02:45 04:58 05:36 35% 18:22
Thu, 30-Apr 20:24 21:02 dusk 03:22 04:56 05:34 50% 19:18
Fri, 01-May 20:26 21:04 dusk 03:52 04:54 05:32 57% 20:12
Sat, 02-May 20:27 21:06 dusk 04:17 04:52 05:30 68% 21:06
Sun, 03-May 20:29 21:08 dusk 04:39 04:50 05:29 78% 21:58 after dusk
Mon, 04-May 20:30 21:09 dusk dawn 04:48 05:27 87% 22:51 all night
Tue, 05-May 20:32 21:11 dusk dawn 04:46 05:25 94% 23:44 all night
Wed, 06-May 20:34 21:13 dusk dawn 04:44 05:23 98% 00:38 all night
Thu, 07-May 20:35 21:15 dusk dawn 04:42 05:22 100% 01:34 all night
Fri, 08-May 20:37 21:17 22:10 dawn 04:40 05:20 98% 02:32 before dawn
Sat, 09-May 20:38 21:18 23:29 dawn 04:38 05:18 94% 03:31 before dawn
Sun, 10-May 20:40 21:20 00:36 dawn 04:37 05:17 88% 04:29 before dawn
Mon, 11-May 20:41 21:22 01:30 dawn 04:35 05:15 80% 05:26 before dawn
Tue, 12-May 20:43 21:24 02:12 dawn 04:33 05:14 71% 06:19
Wed, 13-May 20:44 21:25 02:43 dawn 04:31 05:12 61% 07:08
Thu, 14-May 20:46 21:27 03:08 dawn 04:29 05:11 50% 07:54
Fri, 15-May 20:47 21:29 03:28 dawn 04:28 05:09 42% 08:38
Sat, 16-May 20:49 21:31 03:45 dawn 04:26 05:08 32% 09:19
Sun, 17-May 20:50 21:32 04:01 dawn 04:25 05:06 24% 09:59
Mon, 18-May 20:52 21:34 04:16 dawn 04:23 05:05 16% 10:40
Tue, 19-May 20:53 21:36 04:21 05:04 10%
Wed, 20-May 20:55 21:37 04:20 05:03 5%
Thu, 21-May 20:56 21:39 04:18 05:01 2%
Fri, 22-May 20:57 21:41 04:17 05:00 0%
Sat, 23-May 20:59 21:42 dusk 21:52 04:16 04:59 1% 13:38
Sun, 24-May 21:00 21:44 dusk 22:58 04:14 04:58 3% 14:30
Mon, 25-May 21:01 21:45 dusk 23:57 04:13 04:57 7% 15:23
Tue, 26-May 21:03 21:47 dusk 00:46 04:12 04:56 14% 16:18
Wed, 27-May 21:04 21:48 dusk 01:26 04:11 04:55 22% 17:14
Thu, 28-May 21:05 21:50 dusk 01:57 04:09 04:54 32% 18:08
Fri, 29-May 21:06 21:51 dusk 02:23 04:08 04:53 42% 19:01
Sat, 30-May 21:07 21:52 dusk 02:45 04:07 04:52 50% 19:52
Sun, 31-May 21:08 21:54 dusk 03:05 04:06 04:52 65% 20:43
Mon, 01-Jun 21:09 21:55 dusk 03:25 04:05 04:51 76% 21:33 after dusk
Tue, 02-Jun 21:10 21:56 dusk 03:46 04:04 04:50 85% 22:25 after dusk
Wed, 03-Jun 21:11 21:57 dusk dawn 04:04 04:49 92% 23:19 all night
Thu, 04-Jun 21:12 21:58 dusk dawn 04:03 04:49 97% 00:15 all night
Fri, 05-Jun 21:13 21:59 dusk dawn 04:02 04:48 100% 01:13 all night
Sat, 06-Jun 21:14 22:00 22:17 dawn 04:02 04:48 99% 02:13 before dawn
Sun, 07-Jun 21:15 22:01 23:18 dawn 04:01 04:47 96% 03:11 before dawn
Mon, 08-Jun 21:16 22:02 00:07 dawn 04:00 04:47 91% 04:07 before dawn
Tue, 09-Jun 21:17 22:03 00:43 dawn 04:00 04:47 84% 04:59 before dawn
Wed, 10-Jun 21:17 22:04 01:11 dawn 03:59 04:46 76% 05:48 before dawn
Thu, 11-Jun 21:18 22:05 01:33 dawn 03:59 04:46 67% 06:33
Fri, 12-Jun 21:19 22:06 01:51 dawn 03:59 04:46 58% 07:15
Sat, 13-Jun 21:19 22:06 02:08 dawn 03:59 04:46 50% 07:56
Sun, 14-Jun 21:20 22:07 02:23 dawn 03:58 04:46 39% 08:37
Mon, 15-Jun 21:20 22:08 02:39 dawn 03:58 04:46 30% 09:18
Tue, 16-Jun 21:21 22:08 02:56 dawn 03:58 04:46 22% 10:00
Wed, 17-Jun 21:21 22:08 03:15 dawn 03:58 04:46 14% 10:44
Thu, 18-Jun 21:21 22:09 03:39 dawn 03:58 04:46 8% 11:32
Fri, 19-Jun 21:22 22:09 03:58 04:46 3%
Sat, 20-Jun 21:22 22:09 03:59 04:46 1%
Sun, 21-Jun 21:22 22:10 03:59 04:46 0%
Mon, 22-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 22:43 03:59 04:47 2% 14:12
Tue, 23-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 23:27 04:00 04:47 5% 15:08
Wed, 24-Jun 21:23 22:10 dusk 00:01 04:00 04:47 11% 16:04
Thu, 25-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 00:28 04:01 04:48 19% 16:58
Fri, 26-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 00:51 04:01 04:48 29% 17:50
Sat, 27-Jun 21:22 22:09 dusk 01:12 04:02 04:49 40% 18:40

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 5% of the illumination of a full moon. You can walk with a half moon if its high in the sky (after dusk for a growing moon, before dawn for a shrinking moon).
  • Sky glow (light reflected by air or clouds) from nearby cities, and especially snow on the ground also effect light levels.
  • Times will vary a few minutes, as (i) these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory