Book 1, Walk 12, Farnham to Godalming 1

Keeping people out - in an attractive kind of way, 24 March '07.

24-Mar-07 • MEW2005 on Flickr

book1 godalming farnham walk12 swcwalks tocw112

Book 1, Walk 12, Farnham to Godalming 2

Close to Tilford, 24 March '07.

24-Mar-07 • MEW2005 on Flickr

book1 godalming farnham walk12 swcwalks tocw112

abby ruins

30-Mar-08 • Bela Struzkova

book1, swcwalks, walk12

reflection

30-Mar-08 • Bela Struzkova

book1, swcwalks, walk12

reflection 2

30-Mar-08 • Bela Struzkova

book1, swcwalks, walk12

spring flowers

30-Mar-08 • Bela Struzkova

book1, swcwalks, walk12

stream

30-Mar-08 • Bela Struzkova

book1, swcwalks, walk12

Farnham to Godalming walk

A long but pretty walk with gentle hills via a nice mixture of river valley, forest tracks, and many beautiful country houses.

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Surrey

Sunset: 19:51. Dusk: 20:26. Moon: 92% (23:18 to dawn)

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Fri, 10-Apr 0% 0% 1% 1%
Sat, 11-Apr 0% 0% 0% 2% 3% 3% 3% 2% 2% 2% 3% 4% 2%
Sun, 12-Apr 0% 1% 2% 2% 4% 7% 9% 10% 10% 8% 5% 3% 2%
Mon, 13-Apr 0% 0% 1% 2% 2% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Tue, 14-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Wed, 15-Apr 1% 1% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Thu, 16-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% 1% 0% 0%
Fri, 17-Apr 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 2% 4% 7% 7%

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Met Office Forecast

South East England

Dry with some clear spells overnight. Very warm Saturday afternoon.

This Evening and Tonight:

Dry and clear during the evening and overnight, with a chance of the odd pocket of grass frost in sheltered valleys by dawn. Some mist around dawn is also expected. Winds remaining light. Minimum Temperature 4C.

Saturday:

Another very warm day, with long spells of hazy sunshine, but also an increasing chance of a few showers breaking out inland later, these more likely across northern areas. Maximum Temperature 26C.

Outlook for Sunday to Tuesday:

Sunday rather uncertain with thundery showers possible in west and some warm sunshine. Probably dry and much cooler Monday and Tuesday, with a cool easterly wind developing. Overnight frosts returning.

Day 6-7 and Week 2:

After a patchy frost to start, the rest of Wednesday should be another fine and dry day with plenty of sunshine throughout. Perhaps cloudier towards the north of the UK, with some patchy light rain in the far north. Thursday and Friday are likely to become gradually warmer and remain fine and dry, although with some rain and stronger winds expected in northern parts. Looking further ahead, it is likely that the drier weather will continue, however, there may be spells of wet and windy weather at times. Temperatures are likely to see a large day and night variation, with mild days giving way to chilly nights and a risk of frost in the north.

Week 3 and 4:

Although confidence is low during this time period, the most probable scenario is that dry weather should dominate, with some interludes of more changeable weather at times. Towards the end of the period, there appears to be some signals that it may be more unsettled towards the north of the UK, with drier weather to the south. Temperatures are likely to vary around the average or even slightly above, with some large variations between day and night.

Met Office : South East England : 2020-04-10T13:28:57

Daylight : Surrey

Date Dawn Sunrise Sunset Dusk Day Length
Fri, 10-Apr 05:42 06:17 19:51 20:26 14:44
Sat, 11-Apr 05:40 06:15 19:53 20:28 14:48
Sun, 12-Apr 05:38 06:13 19:54 20:29 14:51
Mon, 13-Apr 05:35 06:10 19:56 20:31 14:56
Tue, 14-Apr 05:33 06:08 19:58 20:33 15:00
Wed, 15-Apr 05:31 06:06 19:59 20:35 15:04
Thu, 16-Apr 05:29 06:04 20:01 20:37 15:08
Fri, 17-Apr 05:26 06:02 20:03 20:38 15:12
Sat, 18-Apr 05:24 06:00 20:04 20:40 15:16
Sun, 19-Apr 05:22 05:58 20:06 20:42 15:20
Mon, 20-Apr 05:20 05:56 20:08 20:44 15:24
Tue, 21-Apr 05:17 05:54 20:09 20:46 15:29
Wed, 22-Apr 05:15 05:52 20:11 20:47 15:32
Thu, 23-Apr 05:13 05:50 20:12 20:49 15:36
Fri, 24-Apr 05:11 05:48 20:14 20:51 15:40
Sat, 25-Apr 05:09 05:46 20:16 20:53 15:44
Sun, 26-Apr 05:06 05:44 20:17 20:55 15:49
Mon, 27-Apr 05:04 05:42 20:19 20:57 15:53
Tue, 28-Apr 05:02 05:40 20:21 20:58 15:56
Wed, 29-Apr 05:00 05:38 20:22 21:00 16:00
Thu, 30-Apr 04:58 05:36 20:24 21:02 16:04
Fri, 01-May 04:56 05:34 20:26 21:04 16:08
Sat, 02-May 04:54 05:32 20:27 21:06 16:12
Sun, 03-May 04:52 05:30 20:29 21:08 16:16
Mon, 04-May 04:50 05:29 20:30 21:09 16:19
Tue, 05-May 04:48 05:27 20:32 21:11 16:23
Wed, 06-May 04:46 05:25 20:34 21:13 16:27
Thu, 07-May 04:44 05:23 20:35 21:15 16:31
Fri, 08-May 04:42 05:22 20:37 21:17 16:35
Sat, 09-May 04:40 05:20 20:38 21:18 16:38
Sun, 10-May 04:38 05:18 20:40 21:20 16:42
Mon, 11-May 04:37 05:17 20:41 21:22 16:45
Tue, 12-May 04:35 05:15 20:43 21:24 16:49
Wed, 13-May 04:33 05:14 20:44 21:25 16:52
Thu, 14-May 04:31 05:12 20:46 21:27 16:56
Fri, 15-May 04:29 05:11 20:47 21:29 17:00
Sat, 16-May 04:28 05:09 20:49 21:31 17:03
Sun, 17-May 04:26 05:08 20:50 21:32 17:06
Mon, 18-May 04:25 05:06 20:52 21:34 17:09
Tue, 19-May 04:23 05:05 20:53 21:36 17:13
Wed, 20-May 04:21 05:04 20:55 21:37 17:16
Thu, 21-May 04:20 05:03 20:56 21:39 17:19
Fri, 22-May 04:18 05:01 20:57 21:41 17:23
Sat, 23-May 04:17 05:00 20:59 21:42 17:25
Sun, 24-May 04:16 04:59 21:00 21:44 17:28
Mon, 25-May 04:14 04:58 21:01 21:45 17:31
Tue, 26-May 04:13 04:57 21:03 21:47 17:34
Wed, 27-May 04:12 04:56 21:04 21:48 17:36
Thu, 28-May 04:11 04:55 21:05 21:50 17:39
Fri, 29-May 04:09 04:54 21:06 21:51 17:42
Sat, 30-May 04:08 04:53 21:07 21:52 17:44
Sun, 31-May 04:07 04:52 21:08 21:54 17:47
Mon, 01-Jun 04:06 04:52 21:09 21:55 17:49
Tue, 02-Jun 04:05 04:51 21:10 21:56 17:51
Wed, 03-Jun 04:04 04:50 21:11 21:57 17:53
Thu, 04-Jun 04:04 04:49 21:12 21:58 17:54
Fri, 05-Jun 04:03 04:49 21:13 21:59 17:56
Sat, 06-Jun 04:02 04:48 21:14 22:00 17:58
Sun, 07-Jun 04:02 04:48 21:15 22:01 17:59
Mon, 08-Jun 04:01 04:47 21:16 22:02 18:01
Tue, 09-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:17 22:03 18:03
Wed, 10-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:17 22:04 18:04
Thu, 11-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:18 22:05 18:06
Fri, 12-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:19 22:06 18:07
Sat, 13-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:19 22:06 18:07
Sun, 14-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:20 22:07 18:08
Mon, 15-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:20 22:08 18:10
Tue, 16-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:21 22:08 18:10
Wed, 17-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:21 22:08 18:10
Thu, 18-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:21 22:09 18:11
Fri, 19-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:22 22:09 18:11
Sat, 20-Jun 03:58 04:46 21:22 22:09 18:11
Sun, 21-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:22 22:10 18:11
Mon, 22-Jun 03:59 04:46 21:22 22:10 18:11
Tue, 23-Jun 03:59 04:47 21:22 22:10 18:11
Wed, 24-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:23 22:10 18:10
Thu, 25-Jun 04:00 04:47 21:22 22:10 18:10
Fri, 26-Jun 04:01 04:48 21:22 22:10 18:09
Sat, 27-Jun 04:01 04:48 21:22 22:09 18:08
Sun, 28-Jun 04:02 04:49 21:22 22:09 18:07
Mon, 29-Jun 04:02 04:49 21:22 22:09 18:07
Tue, 30-Jun 04:03 04:50 21:22 22:08 18:05
Wed, 01-Jul 04:04 04:51 21:21 22:08 18:04
Thu, 02-Jul 04:05 04:51 21:21 22:07 18:02
Fri, 03-Jul 04:06 04:52 21:21 22:07 18:01
Sat, 04-Jul 04:07 04:53 21:20 22:06 17:59
Sun, 05-Jul 04:08 04:54 21:20 22:06 17:58
Mon, 06-Jul 04:09 04:55 21:19 22:05 17:56
Tue, 07-Jul 04:10 04:56 21:18 22:04 17:54
Wed, 08-Jul 04:11 04:57 21:18 22:03 17:52

Data: US Navy Observatory

Moonlight : Surrey

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Moon Set Dawn Sunrise % Full Max. Ht. Night Walk
Fri, 10-Apr 19:51 20:26 23:18 dawn 05:40 06:15 92% 03:52 before dawn
Sat, 11-Apr 19:53 20:28 00:38 dawn 05:38 06:13 84% 04:49 before dawn
Sun, 12-Apr 19:54 20:29 01:49 dawn 05:35 06:10 75% 05:46 before dawn
Mon, 13-Apr 19:56 20:31 02:48 dawn 05:33 06:08 65% 06:42
Tue, 14-Apr 19:58 20:33 03:35 dawn 05:31 06:06 50% 07:35
Wed, 15-Apr 19:59 20:35 04:11 dawn 05:29 06:04 45% 08:26
Thu, 16-Apr 20:01 20:37 04:39 dawn 05:26 06:02 35% 09:13
Fri, 17-Apr 20:03 20:38 05:02 dawn 05:24 06:00 26% 09:57
Sat, 18-Apr 20:04 20:40 05:20 dawn 05:22 05:58 18% 10:40
Sun, 19-Apr 20:06 20:42 05:20 05:56 12%
Mon, 20-Apr 20:08 20:44 05:17 05:54 6%
Tue, 21-Apr 20:09 20:46 05:15 05:52 3%
Wed, 22-Apr 20:11 20:47 05:13 05:50 1%
Thu, 23-Apr 20:12 20:49 05:11 05:48 0%
Fri, 24-Apr 20:14 20:51 dusk 21:45 05:09 05:46 2% 14:07
Sat, 25-Apr 20:16 20:53 dusk 22:53 05:06 05:44 5% 14:53
Sun, 26-Apr 20:17 20:55 dusk 00:01 05:04 05:42 10% 15:42
Mon, 27-Apr 20:19 20:57 dusk 01:04 05:02 05:40 17% 16:34
Tue, 28-Apr 20:21 20:58 dusk 01:59 05:00 05:38 26% 17:27
Wed, 29-Apr 20:22 21:00 dusk 02:45 04:58 05:36 35% 18:22
Thu, 30-Apr 20:24 21:02 dusk 03:22 04:56 05:34 50% 19:18
Fri, 01-May 20:26 21:04 dusk 03:52 04:54 05:32 57% 20:12
Sat, 02-May 20:27 21:06 dusk 04:17 04:52 05:30 68% 21:06
Sun, 03-May 20:29 21:08 dusk 04:39 04:50 05:29 78% 21:58 after dusk
Mon, 04-May 20:30 21:09 dusk dawn 04:48 05:27 87% 22:51 all night
Tue, 05-May 20:32 21:11 dusk dawn 04:46 05:25 94% 23:44 all night
Wed, 06-May 20:34 21:13 dusk dawn 04:44 05:23 98% 00:38 all night
Thu, 07-May 20:35 21:15 dusk dawn 04:42 05:22 100% 01:34 all night
Fri, 08-May 20:37 21:17 22:10 dawn 04:40 05:20 98% 02:32 before dawn
Sat, 09-May 20:38 21:18 23:29 dawn 04:38 05:18 94% 03:31 before dawn
Sun, 10-May 20:40 21:20 00:36 dawn 04:37 05:17 88% 04:29 before dawn
Mon, 11-May 20:41 21:22 01:30 dawn 04:35 05:15 80% 05:26 before dawn
Tue, 12-May 20:43 21:24 02:12 dawn 04:33 05:14 71% 06:19
Wed, 13-May 20:44 21:25 02:43 dawn 04:31 05:12 61% 07:08
Thu, 14-May 20:46 21:27 03:08 dawn 04:29 05:11 50% 07:54
Fri, 15-May 20:47 21:29 03:28 dawn 04:28 05:09 42% 08:38
Sat, 16-May 20:49 21:31 03:45 dawn 04:26 05:08 32% 09:19
Sun, 17-May 20:50 21:32 04:01 dawn 04:25 05:06 24% 09:59
Mon, 18-May 20:52 21:34 04:16 dawn 04:23 05:05 16% 10:40
Tue, 19-May 20:53 21:36 04:21 05:04 10%
Wed, 20-May 20:55 21:37 04:20 05:03 5%
Thu, 21-May 20:56 21:39 04:18 05:01 2%
Fri, 22-May 20:57 21:41 04:17 05:00 0%
Sat, 23-May 20:59 21:42 dusk 21:52 04:16 04:59 1% 13:38
Sun, 24-May 21:00 21:44 dusk 22:58 04:14 04:58 3% 14:30
Mon, 25-May 21:01 21:45 dusk 23:57 04:13 04:57 7% 15:23
Tue, 26-May 21:03 21:47 dusk 00:46 04:12 04:56 14% 16:18
Wed, 27-May 21:04 21:48 dusk 01:26 04:11 04:55 22% 17:14
Thu, 28-May 21:05 21:50 dusk 01:57 04:09 04:54 32% 18:08
Fri, 29-May 21:06 21:51 dusk 02:23 04:08 04:53 42% 19:01
Sat, 30-May 21:07 21:52 dusk 02:45 04:07 04:52 50% 19:52
Sun, 31-May 21:08 21:54 dusk 03:05 04:06 04:52 65% 20:43
Mon, 01-Jun 21:09 21:55 dusk 03:25 04:05 04:51 76% 21:33 after dusk
Tue, 02-Jun 21:10 21:56 dusk 03:46 04:04 04:50 85% 22:25 after dusk
Wed, 03-Jun 21:11 21:57 dusk dawn 04:04 04:49 92% 23:19 all night
Thu, 04-Jun 21:12 21:58 dusk dawn 04:03 04:49 97% 00:15 all night
Fri, 05-Jun 21:13 21:59 dusk dawn 04:02 04:48 100% 01:13 all night
Sat, 06-Jun 21:14 22:00 22:17 dawn 04:02 04:48 99% 02:13 before dawn
Sun, 07-Jun 21:15 22:01 23:18 dawn 04:01 04:47 96% 03:11 before dawn
Mon, 08-Jun 21:16 22:02 00:07 dawn 04:00 04:47 91% 04:07 before dawn
Tue, 09-Jun 21:17 22:03 00:43 dawn 04:00 04:47 84% 04:59 before dawn
Wed, 10-Jun 21:17 22:04 01:11 dawn 03:59 04:46 76% 05:48 before dawn
Thu, 11-Jun 21:18 22:05 01:33 dawn 03:59 04:46 67% 06:33
Fri, 12-Jun 21:19 22:06 01:51 dawn 03:59 04:46 58% 07:15
Sat, 13-Jun 21:19 22:06 02:08 dawn 03:59 04:46 50% 07:56
Sun, 14-Jun 21:20 22:07 02:23 dawn 03:58 04:46 39% 08:37
Mon, 15-Jun 21:20 22:08 02:39 dawn 03:58 04:46 30% 09:18
Tue, 16-Jun 21:21 22:08 02:56 dawn 03:58 04:46 22% 10:00
Wed, 17-Jun 21:21 22:08 03:15 dawn 03:58 04:46 14% 10:44
Thu, 18-Jun 21:21 22:09 03:39 dawn 03:58 04:46 8% 11:32
Fri, 19-Jun 21:22 22:09 03:58 04:46 3%
Sat, 20-Jun 21:22 22:09 03:59 04:46 1%
Sun, 21-Jun 21:22 22:10 03:59 04:46 0%
Mon, 22-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 22:43 03:59 04:47 2% 14:12
Tue, 23-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 23:27 04:00 04:47 5% 15:08
Wed, 24-Jun 21:23 22:10 dusk 00:01 04:00 04:47 11% 16:04
Thu, 25-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 00:28 04:01 04:48 19% 16:58
Fri, 26-Jun 21:22 22:10 dusk 00:51 04:01 04:48 29% 17:50
Sat, 27-Jun 21:22 22:09 dusk 01:12 04:02 04:49 40% 18:40
Sun, 28-Jun 21:22 22:09 dusk 01:31 04:02 04:49 50% 19:29
Mon, 29-Jun 21:22 22:09 dusk 01:51 04:03 04:50 63% 20:19
Tue, 30-Jun 21:22 22:08 dusk 02:13 04:04 04:51 74% 21:11
Wed, 01-Jul 21:21 22:08 dusk 02:39 04:05 04:51 83% 22:04 after dusk
Thu, 02-Jul 21:21 22:07 dusk 03:13 04:06 04:52 91% 23:00 after dusk
Fri, 03-Jul 21:21 22:07 dusk 03:55 04:07 04:53 96% 23:58 after dusk
Sat, 04-Jul 21:20 22:06 dusk dawn 04:08 04:54 99% 00:56 all night
Sun, 05-Jul 21:20 22:06 dusk dawn 04:09 04:55 100% 01:53 all night
Mon, 06-Jul 21:19 22:05 22:40 dawn 04:10 04:56 98% 02:48 before dawn
Tue, 07-Jul 21:18 22:04 23:11 dawn 04:11 04:57 94% 03:39 before dawn
Wed, 08-Jul 21:18 22:03 23:36 dawn 04:12 04:58 89% 04:26 before dawn

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 5% of the illumination of a full moon. You can walk with a half moon if its high in the sky (after dusk for a growing moon, before dawn for a shrinking moon).
  • Sky glow (light reflected by air or clouds) from nearby cities, and especially snow on the ground also effect light levels.
  • Times will vary a few minutes, as (i) these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory