Sandgate beach

Sandling to Folkestone walk

23-May-12 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51 banner

Tea by the sea, Folkestone

Sandling to Folkestone walk

11-Aug-17 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51 walkicon

Folkestone harbour

Sandling to Folkestone walk

11-Aug-17 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51 walkicon

Swimmer's view, Mermaid Beach, Folkestone

Sandling to Folkestone walk

26-Jul-18 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51 walkicon

Sandgate

Sandling to Folkestone walk

18-Aug-10 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51

Sandgate beach

Sandling to Folkestone walk

23-May-12 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51

Moody sea, Sandgate

Sandling to Folkestone walk

18-Jan-14 • Saturdaywalker on Flickr

swcwalks swcwalk51

Sandling to Folkestone via the Sea walk

A swimming walk. Starts with a disused railway line, Saltwood Castle, and downland. Finishes along the coast to Folkestone.

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Kent

Sunset: 19:32. Dusk: 20:06. Moon: 50% (dusk to 03:57)

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Wed, 01-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1% 1% 1% 1% 1% 1% 1%
Thu, 02-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% 3% 2%
Fri, 03-Apr 0% 2% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1% 1% 1% 2%
Sat, 04-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1% 1% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Sun, 05-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1% 1% 1% 1% 1% 0% 0%
Mon, 06-Apr 3% 6% 14% 17% 12% 7% 4% 2% 1% 3% 12% 16% 16%
Tue, 07-Apr 4% 5% 7% 8% 9% 9% 7% 4% 3% 2% 1% 0% 0%
Wed, 08-Apr 2%

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Met Office Forecast

South East England

A mixture of sunny spells and the odd light shower.

Today:

After a bright start to the day cloud will steadily increase from the north. Most parts will stay dry, though the odd light shower this afternoon is possible. Towards evening some brighter spells may return. Maximum Temperature 10C.

Tonight:

Clear spells for much of the night, however towards dawn some thicker cloud will develop with the odd spot of light rain possible in the north. Minimum Temperature 1C.

Thursday:

A breezier day than Wednesday with variable cloud and the odd shower, as well as some bright or sunny spells. Maximum Temperature 13C.

Outlook for Friday to Sunday:

Friday will be a dry day with sunny spells. Turning quite breezy on Saturday, with spells of warm sunshine. Windy on Sunday but dry with warm sunny spells.

Day 6-7 and Week 2:

The beginning of this period looks unsettled with Atlantic weather systems bringing frequent bands of wet and windy conditions across the UK from the south or southwest. Weather systems will likely be interspersed by brighter and showery interludes, with the best chance of any fine weather in eastern parts. There remains a chance of wintry showers during any bright and showery interludes over northern hills. Temperatures likely around average, though there is the potential for some warmer days in the east. There remains a low chance that more general settled conditions could develop to begin, bringing much drier and less windy weather. Confidence is low, but conditions at the end of the period may become quite changeable, as spells of unsettled weather alternate back and forth with more settled conditions.

Week 3 and 4:

The changeable theme between unsettled and more settled conditions is likely to continue in the middle of April. This would bring wet and windy conditions for many during unsettled spells and much more dry and fine weather during settled periods. More dominant settled conditions may begin to develop from the southeast as we head towards the end of April. This dry and fine weather has the potential to gradually push northwestwards across much of the UK, though the far northwest will likely remain rather unsettled. Temperatures vary around average to begin the period, but probably trending above average by the end of the month, especially in the south. Frosts are still possible to begin this period but will likely become infrequent by the end.

Met Office : South East England : 2020-04-01T01:00:58

Daylight : Kent

Date Dawn Sunrise Sunset Dusk Day Length
Wed, 01-Apr 05:59 06:33 19:32 20:06 14:07
Thu, 02-Apr 05:57 06:30 19:33 20:07 14:10
Fri, 03-Apr 05:54 06:28 19:35 20:09 14:15
Sat, 04-Apr 05:52 06:26 19:37 20:11 14:19
Sun, 05-Apr 05:50 06:24 19:38 20:13 14:23
Mon, 06-Apr 05:47 06:22 19:40 20:14 14:27
Tue, 07-Apr 05:45 06:19 19:42 20:16 14:31
Wed, 08-Apr 05:43 06:17 19:43 20:18 14:35
Thu, 09-Apr 05:40 06:15 19:45 20:20 14:40
Fri, 10-Apr 05:38 06:13 19:47 20:21 14:43
Sat, 11-Apr 05:36 06:11 19:48 20:23 14:47
Sun, 12-Apr 05:34 06:08 19:50 20:25 14:51
Mon, 13-Apr 05:31 06:06 19:52 20:27 14:56
Tue, 14-Apr 05:29 06:04 19:53 20:28 14:59
Wed, 15-Apr 05:27 06:02 19:55 20:30 15:03
Thu, 16-Apr 05:24 06:00 19:57 20:32 15:08
Fri, 17-Apr 05:22 05:58 19:58 20:34 15:12
Sat, 18-Apr 05:20 05:56 20:00 20:36 15:16
Sun, 19-Apr 05:18 05:54 20:01 20:38 15:20
Mon, 20-Apr 05:15 05:51 20:03 20:39 15:24
Tue, 21-Apr 05:13 05:49 20:05 20:41 15:28
Wed, 22-Apr 05:11 05:47 20:06 20:43 15:32
Thu, 23-Apr 05:09 05:45 20:08 20:45 15:36
Fri, 24-Apr 05:07 05:43 20:10 20:47 15:40
Sat, 25-Apr 05:04 05:41 20:11 20:48 15:44
Sun, 26-Apr 05:02 05:39 20:13 20:50 15:48
Mon, 27-Apr 05:00 05:37 20:15 20:52 15:52
Tue, 28-Apr 04:58 05:36 20:16 20:54 15:56
Wed, 29-Apr 04:56 05:34 20:18 20:56 16:00
Thu, 30-Apr 04:54 05:32 20:20 20:58 16:04
Fri, 01-May 04:52 05:30 20:21 20:59 16:07
Sat, 02-May 04:50 05:28 20:23 21:01 16:11
Sun, 03-May 04:48 05:26 20:24 21:03 16:15
Mon, 04-May 04:46 05:24 20:26 21:05 16:19
Tue, 05-May 04:44 05:23 20:28 21:07 16:23
Wed, 06-May 04:42 05:21 20:29 21:08 16:26
Thu, 07-May 04:40 05:19 20:31 21:10 16:30
Fri, 08-May 04:38 05:17 20:32 21:12 16:34
Sat, 09-May 04:36 05:16 20:34 21:14 16:38
Sun, 10-May 04:34 05:14 20:35 21:16 16:42
Mon, 11-May 04:32 05:13 20:37 21:17 16:45
Tue, 12-May 04:31 05:11 20:39 21:19 16:48
Wed, 13-May 04:29 05:09 20:40 21:21 16:52
Thu, 14-May 04:27 05:08 20:42 21:23 16:56
Fri, 15-May 04:25 05:07 20:43 21:24 16:59
Sat, 16-May 04:24 05:05 20:44 21:26 17:02
Sun, 17-May 04:22 05:04 20:46 21:28 17:06
Mon, 18-May 04:20 05:02 20:47 21:29 17:09
Tue, 19-May 04:19 05:01 20:49 21:31 17:12
Wed, 20-May 04:17 05:00 20:50 21:33 17:16
Thu, 21-May 04:16 04:58 20:52 21:34 17:18
Fri, 22-May 04:14 04:57 20:53 21:36 17:22
Sat, 23-May 04:13 04:56 20:54 21:38 17:25
Sun, 24-May 04:12 04:55 20:56 21:39 17:27
Mon, 25-May 04:10 04:54 20:57 21:41 17:31
Tue, 26-May 04:09 04:53 20:58 21:42 17:33
Wed, 27-May 04:08 04:52 20:59 21:44 17:36
Thu, 28-May 04:07 04:51 21:00 21:45 17:38
Fri, 29-May 04:05 04:50 21:02 21:46 17:41
Sat, 30-May 04:04 04:49 21:03 21:48 17:44
Sun, 31-May 04:03 04:48 21:04 21:49 17:46
Mon, 01-Jun 04:02 04:47 21:05 21:50 17:48
Tue, 02-Jun 04:01 04:47 21:06 21:51 17:50
Wed, 03-Jun 04:00 04:46 21:07 21:53 17:53
Thu, 04-Jun 04:00 04:45 21:08 21:54 17:54
Fri, 05-Jun 03:59 04:45 21:09 21:55 17:56
Sat, 06-Jun 03:58 04:44 21:10 21:56 17:58
Sun, 07-Jun 03:57 04:44 21:11 21:57 18:00
Mon, 08-Jun 03:57 04:43 21:11 21:58 18:01
Tue, 09-Jun 03:56 04:43 21:12 21:59 18:03
Wed, 10-Jun 03:56 04:42 21:13 22:00 18:04
Thu, 11-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:14 22:00 18:05
Fri, 12-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:14 22:01 18:06
Sat, 13-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:15 22:02 18:07
Sun, 14-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:15 22:02 18:07
Mon, 15-Jun 03:54 04:41 21:16 22:03 18:09
Tue, 16-Jun 03:54 04:41 21:16 22:03 18:09
Wed, 17-Jun 03:54 04:41 21:17 22:04 18:10
Thu, 18-Jun 03:54 04:41 21:17 22:04 18:10
Fri, 19-Jun 03:54 04:42 21:17 22:05 18:11
Sat, 20-Jun 03:54 04:42 21:17 22:05 18:11
Sun, 21-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:18 22:05 18:10
Mon, 22-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:18 22:05 18:10
Tue, 23-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:18 22:05 18:10
Wed, 24-Jun 03:56 04:43 21:18 22:05 18:09
Thu, 25-Jun 03:56 04:43 21:18 22:05 18:09
Fri, 26-Jun 03:57 04:44 21:18 22:05 18:08
Sat, 27-Jun 03:57 04:44 21:18 22:05 18:08
Sun, 28-Jun 03:58 04:45 21:18 22:05 18:07
Mon, 29-Jun 03:58 04:45 21:17 22:04 18:06

Data: US Navy Observatory

Moonlight : Kent

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Moon Set Dawn Sunrise % Full Max. Ht. Night Walk
Wed, 01-Apr 19:32 20:06 dusk 03:57 05:57 06:30 50% 19:28
Thu, 02-Apr 19:33 20:07 dusk 04:41 05:54 06:28 61% 20:25
Fri, 03-Apr 19:35 20:09 dusk 05:16 05:52 06:26 72% 21:22
Sat, 04-Apr 19:37 20:11 dusk 05:46 05:50 06:24 81% 22:18 after dusk
Sun, 05-Apr 19:38 20:13 dusk dawn 05:47 06:22 89% 23:13 all night
Mon, 06-Apr 19:40 20:14 dusk dawn 05:45 06:19 96% 00:07 all night
Tue, 07-Apr 19:42 20:16 dusk dawn 05:43 06:17 99% 01:02 all night
Wed, 08-Apr 19:43 20:18 20:20 dawn 05:40 06:15 100% 01:56 before dawn
Thu, 09-Apr 19:45 20:20 21:48 dawn 05:38 06:13 97% 02:51 before dawn
Fri, 10-Apr 19:47 20:21 23:13 dawn 05:36 06:11 92% 03:48 before dawn
Sat, 11-Apr 19:48 20:23 00:33 dawn 05:34 06:08 84% 04:45 before dawn
Sun, 12-Apr 19:50 20:25 01:44 dawn 05:31 06:06 75% 05:42 before dawn
Mon, 13-Apr 19:52 20:27 02:43 dawn 05:29 06:04 65% 06:38
Tue, 14-Apr 19:53 20:28 03:30 dawn 05:27 06:02 50% 07:31
Wed, 15-Apr 19:55 20:30 04:06 dawn 05:24 06:00 45% 08:21
Thu, 16-Apr 19:57 20:32 04:35 dawn 05:22 05:58 35% 09:08
Fri, 17-Apr 19:58 20:34 04:57 dawn 05:20 05:56 26% 09:53
Sat, 18-Apr 20:00 20:36 05:16 dawn 05:18 05:54 18% 10:35
Sun, 19-Apr 20:01 20:38 05:15 05:51 12%
Mon, 20-Apr 20:03 20:39 05:13 05:49 6%
Tue, 21-Apr 20:05 20:41 05:11 05:47 3%
Wed, 22-Apr 20:06 20:43 05:09 05:45 1%
Thu, 23-Apr 20:08 20:45 05:07 05:43 0%
Fri, 24-Apr 20:10 20:47 dusk 21:40 05:04 05:41 2% 14:03
Sat, 25-Apr 20:11 20:48 dusk 22:49 05:02 05:39 5% 14:49
Sun, 26-Apr 20:13 20:50 dusk 23:56 05:00 05:37 10% 15:38
Mon, 27-Apr 20:15 20:52 dusk 00:59 04:58 05:36 17% 16:29
Tue, 28-Apr 20:16 20:54 dusk 01:54 04:56 05:34 26% 17:23
Wed, 29-Apr 20:18 20:56 dusk 02:41 04:54 05:32 35% 18:18
Thu, 30-Apr 20:20 20:58 dusk 03:18 04:52 05:30 50% 19:13
Fri, 01-May 20:21 20:59 dusk 03:48 04:50 05:28 57% 20:08
Sat, 02-May 20:23 21:01 dusk 04:13 04:48 05:26 68% 21:01
Sun, 03-May 20:24 21:03 dusk 04:35 04:46 05:24 78% 21:54 after dusk
Mon, 04-May 20:26 21:05 dusk dawn 04:44 05:23 87% 22:46 all night
Tue, 05-May 20:28 21:07 dusk dawn 04:42 05:21 94% 23:39 all night
Wed, 06-May 20:29 21:08 dusk dawn 04:40 05:19 98% 00:34 all night
Thu, 07-May 20:31 21:10 dusk dawn 04:38 05:17 100% 01:30 all night
Fri, 08-May 20:32 21:12 22:06 dawn 04:36 05:16 98% 02:28 before dawn
Sat, 09-May 20:34 21:14 23:24 dawn 04:34 05:14 94% 03:26 before dawn
Sun, 10-May 20:35 21:16 00:31 dawn 04:32 05:13 88% 04:25 before dawn
Mon, 11-May 20:37 21:17 01:26 dawn 04:31 05:11 80% 05:21 before dawn
Tue, 12-May 20:39 21:19 02:07 dawn 04:29 05:09 71% 06:14
Wed, 13-May 20:40 21:21 02:39 dawn 04:27 05:08 61% 07:04
Thu, 14-May 20:42 21:23 03:03 dawn 04:25 05:07 50% 07:50
Fri, 15-May 20:43 21:24 03:23 dawn 04:24 05:05 42% 08:33
Sat, 16-May 20:44 21:26 03:41 dawn 04:22 05:04 32% 09:15
Sun, 17-May 20:46 21:28 03:56 dawn 04:20 05:02 24% 09:55
Mon, 18-May 20:47 21:29 04:12 dawn 04:19 05:01 16% 10:35
Tue, 19-May 20:49 21:31 04:17 05:00 10%
Wed, 20-May 20:50 21:33 04:16 04:58 5%
Thu, 21-May 20:52 21:34 04:14 04:57 2%
Fri, 22-May 20:53 21:36 04:13 04:56 0%
Sat, 23-May 20:54 21:38 dusk 21:48 04:12 04:55 1% 13:34
Sun, 24-May 20:56 21:39 dusk 22:53 04:10 04:54 3% 14:25
Mon, 25-May 20:57 21:41 dusk 23:52 04:09 04:53 7% 15:19
Tue, 26-May 20:58 21:42 dusk 00:41 04:08 04:52 14% 16:14
Wed, 27-May 20:59 21:44 dusk 01:21 04:07 04:51 22% 17:09
Thu, 28-May 21:00 21:45 dusk 01:53 04:05 04:50 32% 18:04
Fri, 29-May 21:02 21:46 dusk 02:18 04:04 04:49 42% 18:56
Sat, 30-May 21:03 21:48 dusk 02:40 04:03 04:48 50% 19:48
Sun, 31-May 21:04 21:49 dusk 03:01 04:02 04:47 65% 20:38
Mon, 01-Jun 21:05 21:50 dusk 03:20 04:01 04:47 76% 21:29 after dusk
Tue, 02-Jun 21:06 21:51 dusk 03:42 04:00 04:46 85% 22:21 after dusk
Wed, 03-Jun 21:07 21:53 dusk dawn 04:00 04:45 92% 23:14 all night
Thu, 04-Jun 21:08 21:54 dusk dawn 03:59 04:45 97% 00:11 all night
Fri, 05-Jun 21:09 21:55 dusk dawn 03:58 04:44 100% 01:09 all night
Sat, 06-Jun 21:10 21:56 22:12 dawn 03:57 04:44 99% 02:08 before dawn
Sun, 07-Jun 21:11 21:57 23:14 dawn 03:57 04:43 96% 03:06 before dawn
Mon, 08-Jun 21:11 21:58 00:02 dawn 03:56 04:43 91% 04:02 before dawn
Tue, 09-Jun 21:12 21:59 00:39 dawn 03:56 04:42 84% 04:55 before dawn
Wed, 10-Jun 21:13 22:00 01:06 dawn 03:55 04:42 76% 05:43 before dawn
Thu, 11-Jun 21:14 22:00 01:29 dawn 03:55 04:42 67% 06:28
Fri, 12-Jun 21:14 22:01 01:47 dawn 03:55 04:42 58% 07:11
Sat, 13-Jun 21:15 22:02 02:03 dawn 03:55 04:42 50% 07:52
Sun, 14-Jun 21:15 22:02 02:19 dawn 03:54 04:41 39% 08:32
Mon, 15-Jun 21:16 22:03 02:34 dawn 03:54 04:41 30% 09:13
Tue, 16-Jun 21:16 22:03 02:51 dawn 03:54 04:41 22% 09:55
Wed, 17-Jun 21:17 22:04 03:11 dawn 03:54 04:41 14% 10:40
Thu, 18-Jun 21:17 22:04 03:34 dawn 03:54 04:42 8% 11:27
Fri, 19-Jun 21:17 22:05 03:54 04:42 3%
Sat, 20-Jun 21:17 22:05 03:55 04:42 1%
Sun, 21-Jun 21:18 22:05 03:55 04:42 0%
Mon, 22-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 22:39 03:55 04:42 2% 14:08
Tue, 23-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 23:22 03:56 04:43 5% 15:04
Wed, 24-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 23:57 03:56 04:43 11% 16:00
Thu, 25-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 00:24 03:57 04:44 19% 16:53
Fri, 26-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 00:47 03:57 04:44 29% 17:45
Sat, 27-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 01:07 03:58 04:45 40% 18:35
Sun, 28-Jun 21:18 22:05 dusk 01:26 03:58 04:45 50% 19:25
Mon, 29-Jun 21:17 22:04 dusk 01:46 03:59 04:46 63% 20:15

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 5% of the illumination of a full moon. You can walk with a half moon if its high in the sky (after dusk for a growing moon, before dawn for a shrinking moon).
  • Sky glow (light reflected by air or clouds) from nearby cities, and especially snow on the ground also effect light levels.
  • Times will vary a few minutes, as (i) these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory