The Broomway warning notice

The Broomway is a tidal byway out to Foulness Island over Maplin Sands at the mouth of the Thames estuary. The route is so called because it used to be marked by branches of Broom placed at regular intervals on the route. However these have long since gone and the path is now unmarked. The path is dangerous because the tide comes in as fast as you can run and there are quick sands and mud in places if you stray off the route. Foulness Island itself is part of a firing range and most of it is "out of bounds" to the public with the exception of the south east corner of the island, which has a couple of villages and farms. The only road to the island can only be used by MOD permit holders, so the only way for the public to reach the island is by boat or by walking the Broomway.

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

The Broomway at Asplins Head on Foulness ISland

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

Foulness Island from the quay

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

Foulness Island from the quay

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

Old military shells at Fishermans Head, Foulness Island

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

Houses on Foulness Island

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

Oldest brick house on Foulness Island

Although it has seen better day! The building is Grade II listed.

18-May-14 • JonCombe on Flickr

foulness essex coast island swcwalks freewalks walk166 coastwalk170

The Broomway and Foulness Island walk

Fabled tidal road off the coast off Essex across Maplin Sands to Foulness Island.

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Essex

Sunset: 17:53. Dusk: 18:27. Moon: 50% (23:26 to dawn)

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Mon, 21-Oct 65% 71% 73% 60% 32% 21% 20% 19% 19% 17% 11% 7% 7%
Tue, 22-Oct 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Wed, 23-Oct 0% 9% 19% 33% 46% 48% 34% 16% 11% 11% 9% 11% 17%
Thu, 24-Oct 0% 5% 9% 10% 7% 3% 16% 26% 28% 39% 49% 41% 21%
Fri, 25-Oct 0% 0% 4% 4% 3% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Sat, 26-Oct 0% 0% 6% 6% 4% 5% 4% 4% 5% 6% 7% 9% 10%
Sun, 27-Oct 4% 4% 5% 6% 8% 11% 16% 18% 18% 20% 26% 41% 45%
Mon, 28-Oct

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Met Office Forecast

East England

Generally cloudy, showery rain expected during the early hours.

This Evening and Tonight:

Any light showers soon dying out this evening to leave most places dry with clear spells. However cloud will increase across the southeast later in the night, bringing showery outbreaks of rain. Minimum Temperature 7C.

Monday:

Outbreaks of rain clearing eastern parts through the day. Otherwise, largely dry with sunny spells and just the odd shower in the afternoon. Breezy and chilly near the coast. Maximum Temperature 14C.

Outlook for Tuesday to Thursday:

Early morning fog clearing to sunny spells Tuesday. Cloudier Wednesday with showery outbreaks of rain, clearing to sunny spells on Thursday after any morning fog lifts.

Day 6-7 and Week 2:

Rain across the northwest on Friday, possibly snow over Scottish mountains. Elsewhere, largely dry with sunny spells after fog patches clear. Next weekend becomes increasingly uncertain, but unsettled and perhaps very windy conditions could extend across much of the UK. Through the following week it may become drier and more settled again with some sunshine but also overnight fog patches, which could be slow to clear by day. However, Atlantic fronts could still bring further rain and strong winds northwards and eastwards into the UK at times. There will probably be some marked variations in temperature across the UK but more often below average in the north and above average in the south. However, the more settled spells could bring colder conditions more widely at times, accompanied by night frosts.

Week 3 and 4:

There is significant uncertainty through this period. However, the beginning of November may become more settled and dry for many areas with a mixture of cloud and sunshine. Any spells of rain are more likely in southern and southwestern areas. Temperatures will probably be a little below average with overnight frosts and fog patches likely, which could persist well into the mornings. Further spells of unsettled, windy conditions with some rain or showers are likely at times, more especially towards the middle of the month.

Met Office : East England : 2019-10-20T13:58:58

Daylight : Essex

Date Dawn Sunrise Sunset Dusk Day Length
Mon, 21-Oct 06:58 07:32 17:53 18:27 11:29
Tue, 22-Oct 07:00 07:34 17:51 18:25 11:25
Wed, 23-Oct 07:01 07:36 17:49 18:23 11:22
Thu, 24-Oct 07:03 07:37 17:47 18:21 11:18
Fri, 25-Oct 07:05 07:39 17:45 18:19 11:14
Sat, 26-Oct 07:06 07:41 17:43 18:17 11:11
Sun, 27-Oct 06:08 06:43 16:41 17:15 11:07
Mon, 28-Oct 06:10 06:44 16:39 17:13 11:03
Tue, 29-Oct 06:11 06:46 16:37 17:12 11:01
Wed, 30-Oct 06:13 06:48 16:35 17:10 10:57
Thu, 31-Oct 06:15 06:50 16:33 17:08 10:53
Fri, 01-Nov 06:16 06:52 16:31 17:06 10:50
Sat, 02-Nov 06:18 06:53 16:29 17:05 10:47
Sun, 03-Nov 06:20 06:55 16:27 17:03 10:43
Mon, 04-Nov 06:21 06:57 16:26 17:01 10:40
Tue, 05-Nov 06:23 06:59 16:24 17:00 10:37
Wed, 06-Nov 06:25 07:00 16:22 16:58 10:33
Thu, 07-Nov 06:26 07:02 16:21 16:57 10:31
Fri, 08-Nov 06:28 07:04 16:19 16:55 10:27
Sat, 09-Nov 06:29 07:06 16:17 16:54 10:25
Sun, 10-Nov 06:31 07:08 16:16 16:52 10:21
Mon, 11-Nov 06:33 07:09 16:14 16:51 10:18
Tue, 12-Nov 06:34 07:11 16:13 16:49 10:15
Wed, 13-Nov 06:36 07:13 16:11 16:48 10:12
Thu, 14-Nov 06:38 07:15 16:10 16:47 10:09
Fri, 15-Nov 06:39 07:16 16:08 16:46 10:07
Sat, 16-Nov 06:41 07:18 16:07 16:44 10:03
Sun, 17-Nov 06:42 07:20 16:06 16:43 10:01
Mon, 18-Nov 06:44 07:21 16:04 16:42 9:58
Tue, 19-Nov 06:45 07:23 16:03 16:41 9:56
Wed, 20-Nov 06:47 07:25 16:02 16:40 9:53
Thu, 21-Nov 06:49 07:26 16:01 16:39 9:50
Fri, 22-Nov 06:50 07:28 16:00 16:38 9:48
Sat, 23-Nov 06:52 07:30 15:59 16:37 9:45
Sun, 24-Nov 06:53 07:31 15:58 16:36 9:43
Mon, 25-Nov 06:54 07:33 15:57 16:35 9:41
Tue, 26-Nov 06:56 07:35 15:56 16:34 9:38
Wed, 27-Nov 06:57 07:36 15:55 16:34 9:37
Thu, 28-Nov 06:59 07:38 15:54 16:33 9:34
Fri, 29-Nov 07:00 07:39 15:53 16:32 9:32
Sat, 30-Nov 07:01 07:41 15:52 16:32 9:31
Sun, 01-Dec 07:03 07:42 15:52 16:31 9:28
Mon, 02-Dec 07:04 07:43 15:51 16:30 9:26
Tue, 03-Dec 07:05 07:45 15:51 16:30 9:25
Wed, 04-Dec 07:06 07:46 15:50 16:30 9:24
Thu, 05-Dec 07:08 07:47 15:50 16:29 9:21
Fri, 06-Dec 07:09 07:49 15:49 16:29 9:20
Sat, 07-Dec 07:10 07:50 15:49 16:29 9:19
Sun, 08-Dec 07:11 07:51 15:49 16:28 9:17
Mon, 09-Dec 07:12 07:52 15:48 16:28 9:16
Tue, 10-Dec 07:13 07:53 15:48 16:28 9:15
Wed, 11-Dec 07:14 07:54 15:48 16:28 9:14
Thu, 12-Dec 07:15 07:55 15:48 16:28 9:13
Fri, 13-Dec 07:16 07:56 15:48 16:28 9:12
Sat, 14-Dec 07:17 07:57 15:48 16:28 9:11
Sun, 15-Dec 07:18 07:58 15:48 16:28 9:10
Mon, 16-Dec 07:18 07:59 15:48 16:29 9:11
Tue, 17-Dec 07:19 08:00 15:48 16:29 9:10
Wed, 18-Dec 07:20 08:00 15:49 16:29 9:09
Thu, 19-Dec 07:21 08:01 15:49 16:29 9:08
Fri, 20-Dec 07:21 08:02 15:49 16:30 9:09
Sat, 21-Dec 07:22 08:02 15:50 16:30 9:08
Sun, 22-Dec 07:22 08:03 15:50 16:31 9:09
Mon, 23-Dec 07:23 08:03 15:51 16:31 9:08
Tue, 24-Dec 07:23 08:04 15:51 16:32 9:09
Wed, 25-Dec 07:23 08:04 15:52 16:33 9:10
Thu, 26-Dec 07:24 08:04 15:53 16:33 9:09
Fri, 27-Dec 07:24 08:05 15:54 16:34 9:10
Sat, 28-Dec 07:24 08:05 15:54 16:35 9:11
Sun, 29-Dec 07:24 08:05 15:55 16:36 9:12
Mon, 30-Dec 07:25 08:05 15:56 16:37 9:12
Tue, 31-Dec 07:25 08:05 15:57 16:37 9:12
Wed, 01-Jan 07:25 08:05 15:58 16:38 9:13
Thu, 02-Jan 07:25 08:05 15:59 16:39 9:14
Fri, 03-Jan 07:25 08:05 16:00 16:40 9:15
Sat, 04-Jan 07:24 08:04 16:01 16:41 9:17
Sun, 05-Jan 07:24 08:04 16:03 16:43 9:19
Mon, 06-Jan 07:24 08:04 16:04 16:44 9:20
Tue, 07-Jan 07:24 08:03 16:05 16:45 9:21
Wed, 08-Jan 07:23 08:03 16:06 16:46 9:23
Thu, 09-Jan 07:23 08:03 16:08 16:47 9:24
Fri, 10-Jan 07:23 08:02 16:09 16:49 9:26
Sat, 11-Jan 07:22 08:01 16:11 16:50 9:28
Sun, 12-Jan 07:22 08:01 16:12 16:51 9:29
Mon, 13-Jan 07:21 08:00 16:14 16:53 9:32
Tue, 14-Jan 07:20 07:59 16:15 16:54 9:34
Wed, 15-Jan 07:20 07:58 16:17 16:55 9:35
Thu, 16-Jan 07:19 07:58 16:18 16:57 9:38
Fri, 17-Jan 07:18 07:57 16:20 16:58 9:40
Sat, 18-Jan 07:17 07:56 16:21 17:00 9:43
Sun, 19-Jan 07:17 07:55 16:23 17:01 9:44
Mon, 20-Jan 07:16 07:54 16:25 17:03 9:47
Tue, 21-Jan 07:15 07:53 16:26 17:04 9:49
Wed, 22-Jan 07:14 07:52 16:28 17:06 9:52
Thu, 23-Jan 07:13 07:50 16:30 17:07 9:54
Fri, 24-Jan 07:12 07:49 16:32 17:09 9:57
Sat, 25-Jan 07:10 07:48 16:33 17:11 10:01
Sun, 26-Jan 07:09 07:47 16:35 17:12 10:03
Mon, 27-Jan 07:08 07:45 16:37 17:14 10:06
Tue, 28-Jan 07:07 07:44 16:39 17:16 10:09
Wed, 29-Jan 07:06 07:43 16:40 17:17 10:11
Thu, 30-Jan 07:04 07:41 16:42 17:19 10:15
Fri, 31-Jan 07:03 07:40 16:44 17:21 10:18
Sat, 01-Feb 07:02 07:38 16:46 17:22 10:20
Sun, 02-Feb 07:00 07:37 16:48 17:24 10:24
Mon, 03-Feb 06:59 07:35 16:50 17:26 10:27
Tue, 04-Feb 06:57 07:33 16:51 17:27 10:30
Wed, 05-Feb 06:56 07:32 16:53 17:29 10:33
Thu, 06-Feb 06:54 07:30 16:55 17:31 10:37
Fri, 07-Feb 06:53 07:28 16:57 17:33 10:40
Sat, 08-Feb 06:51 07:27 16:59 17:34 10:43
Sun, 09-Feb 06:49 07:25 17:01 17:36 10:47
Mon, 10-Feb 06:48 07:23 17:02 17:38 10:50
Tue, 11-Feb 06:46 07:21 17:04 17:40 10:54
Wed, 12-Feb 06:44 07:19 17:06 17:41 10:57
Thu, 13-Feb 06:42 07:17 17:08 17:43 11:01
Fri, 14-Feb 06:41 07:16 17:10 17:45 11:04
Sat, 15-Feb 06:39 07:14 17:12 17:46 11:07
Sun, 16-Feb 06:37 07:12 17:13 17:48 11:11
Mon, 17-Feb 06:35 07:10 17:15 17:50 11:15

Data: US Navy Observatory

Moonlight : Essex

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Moon Set Dawn Sunrise % Full Max. Ht. Night Walk
Mon, 21-Oct 17:53 18:27 23:26 dawn 07:00 07:34 50% 07:41
Tue, 22-Oct 17:51 18:25 00:42 dawn 07:01 07:36 40% 08:38
Wed, 23-Oct 17:49 18:23 02:04 dawn 07:03 07:37 29% 09:33
Thu, 24-Oct 17:47 18:21 03:28 dawn 07:05 07:39 19% 10:27
Fri, 25-Oct 17:45 18:19 04:54 dawn 07:06 07:41 11% 11:20
Sat, 26-Oct 17:43 18:17 05:19 dawn 06:08 06:43 4% 11:13
Sun, 27-Oct 16:41 17:15 06:10 06:44 1%
Mon, 28-Oct 16:39 17:13 dusk 17:16 06:11 06:46 0% 12:06
Tue, 29-Oct 16:37 17:12 dusk 17:43 06:13 06:48 3% 13:01
Wed, 30-Oct 16:35 17:10 dusk 18:16 06:15 06:50 7% 13:56
Thu, 31-Oct 16:33 17:08 dusk 18:56 06:16 06:52 14% 14:52
Fri, 01-Nov 16:31 17:06 dusk 19:44 06:18 06:53 22% 15:47
Sat, 02-Nov 16:29 17:05 dusk 20:40 06:20 06:55 31% 16:40
Sun, 03-Nov 16:27 17:03 dusk 21:42 06:21 06:57 41% 17:31
Mon, 04-Nov 16:26 17:01 dusk 22:47 06:23 06:59 50% 18:20
Tue, 05-Nov 16:24 17:00 dusk 23:54 06:25 07:00 60% 19:05
Wed, 06-Nov 16:22 16:58 dusk 01:01 06:26 07:02 69% 19:49
Thu, 07-Nov 16:21 16:57 dusk 02:07 06:28 07:04 78% 20:31 after dusk
Fri, 08-Nov 16:19 16:55 dusk 03:14 06:29 07:06 85% 21:12 after dusk
Sat, 09-Nov 16:17 16:54 dusk 04:21 06:31 07:08 91% 21:54 after dusk
Sun, 10-Nov 16:16 16:52 dusk 05:29 06:33 07:09 96% 22:36 after dusk
Mon, 11-Nov 16:14 16:51 dusk dawn 06:34 07:11 99% 23:20 all night
Tue, 12-Nov 16:13 16:49 dusk dawn 06:36 07:13 100% 00:07 all night
Wed, 13-Nov 16:11 16:48 17:03 dawn 06:38 07:15 99% 00:56 before dawn
Thu, 14-Nov 16:10 16:47 17:36 dawn 06:39 07:16 96% 01:49 before dawn
Fri, 15-Nov 16:08 16:46 18:18 dawn 06:41 07:18 91% 02:44 before dawn
Sat, 16-Nov 16:07 16:44 19:11 dawn 06:42 07:20 84% 03:40 before dawn
Sun, 17-Nov 16:06 16:43 20:15 dawn 06:44 07:21 75% 04:37 before dawn
Mon, 18-Nov 16:04 16:42 21:29 dawn 06:45 07:23 65% 05:33
Tue, 19-Nov 16:03 16:41 22:48 dawn 06:47 07:25 50% 06:27
Wed, 20-Nov 16:02 16:40 00:09 dawn 06:49 07:26 43% 07:19
Thu, 21-Nov 16:01 16:39 01:31 dawn 06:50 07:28 32% 08:11
Fri, 22-Nov 16:00 16:38 02:53 dawn 06:52 07:30 22% 09:02
Sat, 23-Nov 15:59 16:37 04:16 dawn 06:53 07:31 13% 09:53
Sun, 24-Nov 15:58 16:36 05:39 dawn 06:54 07:33 6% 10:46
Mon, 25-Nov 15:57 16:35 06:56 07:35 2%
Tue, 26-Nov 15:56 16:34 06:57 07:36 0%
Wed, 27-Nov 15:55 16:34 dusk 16:46 06:59 07:38 1% 12:36
Thu, 28-Nov 15:54 16:33 dusk 17:30 07:00 07:39 4% 13:32
Fri, 29-Nov 15:53 16:32 dusk 18:24 07:01 07:41 10% 14:27
Sat, 30-Nov 15:52 16:32 dusk 19:25 07:03 07:42 16% 15:21
Sun, 01-Dec 15:52 16:31 dusk 20:30 07:04 07:43 25% 16:11
Mon, 02-Dec 15:51 16:30 dusk 21:38 07:05 07:45 33% 16:59
Tue, 03-Dec 15:51 16:30 dusk 22:45 07:06 07:46 43% 17:44
Wed, 04-Dec 15:50 16:30 dusk 23:52 07:08 07:47 50% 18:27
Thu, 05-Dec 15:50 16:29 dusk 00:58 07:09 07:49 61% 19:08
Fri, 06-Dec 15:49 16:29 dusk 02:05 07:10 07:50 70% 19:49
Sat, 07-Dec 15:49 16:29 dusk 03:13 07:11 07:51 79% 20:31 after dusk
Sun, 08-Dec 15:49 16:28 dusk 04:22 07:12 07:52 86% 21:14 after dusk
Mon, 09-Dec 15:48 16:28 dusk 05:34 07:13 07:53 92% 21:59 after dusk
Tue, 10-Dec 15:48 16:28 dusk 06:46 07:14 07:54 97% 22:48 after dusk
Wed, 11-Dec 15:48 16:28 dusk dawn 07:15 07:55 99% 23:40 all night
Thu, 12-Dec 15:48 16:28 dusk dawn 07:16 07:56 100% 00:35 all night
Fri, 13-Dec 15:48 16:28 17:03 dawn 07:17 07:57 98% 01:33 before dawn
Sat, 14-Dec 15:48 16:28 18:05 dawn 07:18 07:58 94% 02:31 before dawn
Sun, 15-Dec 15:48 16:28 19:17 dawn 07:18 07:59 87% 03:29 before dawn
Mon, 16-Dec 15:48 16:29 20:36 dawn 07:19 08:00 79% 04:24 before dawn
Tue, 17-Dec 15:48 16:29 21:57 dawn 07:20 08:00 69% 05:17
Wed, 18-Dec 15:49 16:29 23:18 dawn 07:21 08:01 58% 06:08
Thu, 19-Dec 15:49 16:29 00:38 dawn 07:21 08:02 50% 06:57
Fri, 20-Dec 15:49 16:30 01:59 dawn 07:22 08:02 36% 07:47
Sat, 21-Dec 15:50 16:30 03:19 dawn 07:22 08:03 25% 08:38
Sun, 22-Dec 15:50 16:31 04:39 dawn 07:23 08:03 16% 09:29
Mon, 23-Dec 15:51 16:31 05:58 dawn 07:23 08:04 9% 10:23
Tue, 24-Dec 15:51 16:32 07:11 dawn 07:23 08:04 3% 11:18
Wed, 25-Dec 15:52 16:33 07:24 08:04 1%
Thu, 26-Dec 15:53 16:33 07:24 08:05 0%
Fri, 27-Dec 15:54 16:34 dusk 17:08 07:24 08:05 2% 13:09
Sat, 28-Dec 15:54 16:35 dusk 18:12 07:24 08:05 6% 14:01
Sun, 29-Dec 15:55 16:36 dusk 19:20 07:25 08:05 11% 14:51
Mon, 30-Dec 15:56 16:37 dusk 20:28 07:25 08:05 18% 15:37
Tue, 31-Dec 15:57 16:37 dusk 21:36 07:25 08:05 26% 16:21
Wed, 01-Jan 15:58 16:38 dusk 22:42 07:25 08:05 34% 17:03
Thu, 02-Jan 15:59 16:39 dusk 23:49 07:25 08:05 44% 17:44
Fri, 03-Jan 16:00 16:40 dusk 00:55 07:24 08:04 50% 18:25
Sat, 04-Jan 16:01 16:41 dusk 02:03 07:24 08:04 62% 19:07
Sun, 05-Jan 16:03 16:43 dusk 03:13 07:24 08:04 72% 19:50
Mon, 06-Jan 16:04 16:44 dusk 04:24 07:24 08:03 80% 20:37 after dusk
Tue, 07-Jan 16:05 16:45 dusk 05:36 07:23 08:03 88% 21:27 after dusk
Wed, 08-Jan 16:06 16:46 dusk 06:46 07:23 08:03 94% 22:21 after dusk
Thu, 09-Jan 16:08 16:47 dusk dawn 07:23 08:02 98% 23:19 all night
Fri, 10-Jan 16:09 16:49 dusk dawn 07:22 08:01 100% 00:18 all night
Sat, 11-Jan 16:11 16:50 16:58 dawn 07:22 08:01 99% 01:18 before dawn
Sun, 12-Jan 16:12 16:51 18:17 dawn 07:21 08:00 96% 02:16 before dawn
Mon, 13-Jan 16:14 16:53 19:41 dawn 07:20 07:59 90% 03:11 before dawn
Tue, 14-Jan 16:15 16:54 21:04 dawn 07:20 07:58 82% 04:04 before dawn
Wed, 15-Jan 16:17 16:55 22:27 dawn 07:19 07:58 73% 04:55
Thu, 16-Jan 16:18 16:57 23:48 dawn 07:18 07:57 62% 05:45
Fri, 17-Jan 16:20 16:58 01:08 dawn 07:17 07:56 50% 06:35
Sat, 18-Jan 16:21 17:00 02:27 dawn 07:17 07:55 39% 07:25
Sun, 19-Jan 16:23 17:01 03:44 dawn 07:16 07:54 29% 08:17
Mon, 20-Jan 16:25 17:03 04:58 dawn 07:15 07:53 20% 09:11
Tue, 21-Jan 16:26 17:04 06:06 dawn 07:14 07:52 12% 10:05
Wed, 22-Jan 16:28 17:06 07:04 dawn 07:13 07:50 6% 10:59
Thu, 23-Jan 16:30 17:07 07:12 07:49 2%
Fri, 24-Jan 16:32 17:09 07:10 07:48 0%
Sat, 25-Jan 16:33 17:11 07:09 07:47 0%
Sun, 26-Jan 16:35 17:12 dusk 18:13 07:08 07:45 3% 13:31
Mon, 27-Jan 16:37 17:14 dusk 19:21 07:07 07:44 7% 14:16
Tue, 28-Jan 16:39 17:16 dusk 20:28 07:06 07:43 12% 14:59
Wed, 29-Jan 16:40 17:17 dusk 21:35 07:04 07:41 19% 15:40
Thu, 30-Jan 16:42 17:19 dusk 22:41 07:03 07:40 27% 16:20
Fri, 31-Jan 16:44 17:21 dusk 23:47 07:02 07:38 35% 17:01
Sat, 01-Feb 16:46 17:22 dusk 00:55 07:00 07:37 45% 17:43
Sun, 02-Feb 16:48 17:24 dusk 02:04 06:59 07:35 50% 18:28
Mon, 03-Feb 16:50 17:26 dusk 03:15 06:57 07:33 64% 19:15
Tue, 04-Feb 16:51 17:27 dusk 04:25 06:56 07:32 73% 20:06
Wed, 05-Feb 16:53 17:29 dusk 05:30 06:54 07:30 82% 21:01 after dusk
Thu, 06-Feb 16:55 17:31 dusk 06:28 06:53 07:28 90% 21:59 after dusk
Fri, 07-Feb 16:57 17:33 dusk dawn 06:51 07:27 95% 22:59 all night
Sat, 08-Feb 16:59 17:34 dusk dawn 06:49 07:25 99% 23:59 all night
Sun, 09-Feb 17:01 17:36 dusk dawn 06:48 07:23 100% 00:57 all night
Mon, 10-Feb 17:02 17:38 18:39 dawn 06:46 07:21 98% 01:53 before dawn
Tue, 11-Feb 17:04 17:40 20:06 dawn 06:44 07:19 93% 02:47 before dawn
Wed, 12-Feb 17:06 17:41 21:31 dawn 06:42 07:17 86% 03:39 before dawn
Thu, 13-Feb 17:08 17:43 22:54 dawn 06:41 07:16 76% 04:30 before dawn
Fri, 14-Feb 17:10 17:45 00:15 dawn 06:39 07:14 66% 05:22
Sat, 15-Feb 17:12 17:46 01:35 dawn 06:37 07:12 50% 06:14
Sun, 16-Feb 17:13 17:48 02:50 dawn 06:35 07:10 44% 07:07
Mon, 17-Feb 17:15 17:50 04:00 dawn 06:33 07:08 33% 08:01

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 5% of the illumination of a full moon. You can walk with a half moon if its high in the sky (after dusk for a growing moon, before dawn for a shrinking moon).
  • Sky glow (light reflected by air or clouds) from nearby cities, and especially snow on the ground also effect light levels.
  • Times will vary a few minutes, as (i) these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory