SDC10383

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

SDC10384

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

SDC10385

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

SDC10386

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

SDC10387

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

SDC10389

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

SDC10390

30-Jun-10 • Andrew Murphy

book3, swcwalks, walk98

Walton-on-the-Naze Circular walk

Coastal walk from a faded grandeur Victorian seaside resort with pier to a fast eroding, fossil rich headland and a sand spit. Return along the beach or through a nature reserve.

Hiking Weather

7 Day Forecast for Essex

Sunset: 20:01. Dusk: 20:38. Moon: 100% (visible all night)

8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Fri, 19-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Sat, 20-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Sun, 21-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Mon, 22-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Tue, 23-Apr 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Wed, 24-Apr 12% 17% 21% 15% 13% 12% 8% 3% 1% 2% 2% 3% 3%
Thu, 25-Apr 0% 0% 0% 4% 4% 5% 6% 7% 7% 7% 5% 4% 0%
Fri, 26-Apr

Powered by Dark Sky

Loading...

Met Office Forecast

East England

Dry overnight and staying fine with sunny periods through Friday.

This Evening and Tonight:

Staying fine through this evening with some hazy sunshine. Remaining dry overnight, with a few patches of mist, fog and low cloud forming. Becoming chilly with a touch of grass frost possible in some rural areas by dawn. Minimum Temperature 4C.

Friday:

Another dry and bright day with plenty of sunshine and just some patchy cloud possible at times. Feeling warm inland, although still rather cool in some coastal areas. Maximum Temperature 22C.

Outlook for Saturday to Monday:

Isolated early morning fog patches, but otherwise a dry, mostly sunny and increasingly warm or very warm Easter weekend. Cooler on some coasts at times and locally chilly inland overnight.

Day 6-7 and Week 2:

The fine weather will continue for many on Tuesday, with plenty of warm sunshine. Perhaps cloudier in the west or southwest with the risk of a few heavy showers by the afternoon or evening. Thereafter, for the remainder of April there is lower confidence in the forecast, but the weather will perhaps become more changeable and generally less warm, at least for a time with showers or longer spells of rain and some periods with stronger winds. However, some drier, brighter and warmer interludes are still likely at times, these most probable across southern and southeastern parts, although overall, temperatures will still be close to average for late April. At times, there may be some marked variations in temperatures across the country though.

Week 3 and 4:

During the first half of May, there is very low confidence in the forecast. On balance, there is a slightly greater chance that it will be settled, with some longer spells of dry and bright weather for many places, but especially so across the south. Rain is still possible at times, although with a good deal of fine weather temperatures will be mostly above average.

Met Office : East England : 2019-04-18T14:49:00

Daylight : Essex

Date Dawn Sunrise Sunset Dusk Day Length
Fri, 19-Apr 05:18 05:54 20:01 20:38 15:20
Sat, 20-Apr 05:16 05:52 20:03 20:40 15:24
Sun, 21-Apr 05:14 05:50 20:05 20:42 15:28
Mon, 22-Apr 05:11 05:48 20:06 20:43 15:32
Tue, 23-Apr 05:09 05:46 20:08 20:45 15:36
Wed, 24-Apr 05:07 05:44 20:10 20:47 15:40
Thu, 25-Apr 05:05 05:42 20:12 20:49 15:44
Fri, 26-Apr 05:02 05:40 20:13 20:51 15:49
Sat, 27-Apr 05:00 05:38 20:15 20:53 15:53
Sun, 28-Apr 04:58 05:36 20:17 20:55 15:57
Mon, 29-Apr 04:56 05:34 20:18 20:56 16:00
Tue, 30-Apr 04:54 05:32 20:20 20:58 16:04
Wed, 01-May 04:52 05:30 20:22 21:00 16:08
Thu, 02-May 04:50 05:28 20:23 21:02 16:12
Fri, 03-May 04:48 05:26 20:25 21:04 16:16
Sat, 04-May 04:45 05:24 20:27 21:06 16:21
Sun, 05-May 04:43 05:23 20:28 21:08 16:25
Mon, 06-May 04:41 05:21 20:30 21:09 16:28
Tue, 07-May 04:39 05:19 20:31 21:11 16:32
Wed, 08-May 04:37 05:17 20:33 21:13 16:36
Thu, 09-May 04:35 05:16 20:35 21:15 16:40
Fri, 10-May 04:34 05:14 20:36 21:17 16:43
Sat, 11-May 04:32 05:12 20:38 21:19 16:47
Sun, 12-May 04:30 05:11 20:39 21:21 16:51
Mon, 13-May 04:28 05:09 20:41 21:22 16:54
Tue, 14-May 04:26 05:08 20:42 21:24 16:58
Wed, 15-May 04:24 05:06 20:44 21:26 17:02
Thu, 16-May 04:23 05:04 20:46 21:28 17:05
Fri, 17-May 04:21 05:03 20:47 21:29 17:08
Sat, 18-May 04:19 05:02 20:48 21:31 17:12
Sun, 19-May 04:18 05:00 20:50 21:33 17:15
Mon, 20-May 04:16 04:59 20:51 21:35 17:19
Tue, 21-May 04:14 04:58 20:53 21:36 17:22
Wed, 22-May 04:13 04:56 20:54 21:38 17:25
Thu, 23-May 04:11 04:55 20:56 21:39 17:28
Fri, 24-May 04:10 04:54 20:57 21:41 17:31
Sat, 25-May 04:09 04:53 20:58 21:43 17:34
Sun, 26-May 04:07 04:52 20:59 21:44 17:37
Mon, 27-May 04:06 04:51 21:01 21:46 17:40
Tue, 28-May 04:05 04:50 21:02 21:47 17:42
Wed, 29-May 04:03 04:49 21:03 21:49 17:46
Thu, 30-May 04:02 04:48 21:04 21:50 17:48
Fri, 31-May 04:01 04:47 21:06 21:51 17:50
Sat, 01-Jun 04:00 04:46 21:07 21:53 17:53
Sun, 02-Jun 03:59 04:45 21:08 21:54 17:55
Mon, 03-Jun 03:58 04:44 21:09 21:55 17:57
Tue, 04-Jun 03:57 04:44 21:10 21:56 17:59
Wed, 05-Jun 03:56 04:43 21:11 21:58 18:02
Thu, 06-Jun 03:56 04:42 21:12 21:59 18:03
Fri, 07-Jun 03:55 04:42 21:13 22:00 18:05
Sat, 08-Jun 03:54 04:41 21:13 22:01 18:07
Sun, 09-Jun 03:54 04:41 21:14 22:02 18:08
Mon, 10-Jun 03:53 04:40 21:15 22:03 18:10
Tue, 11-Jun 03:53 04:40 21:16 22:03 18:10
Wed, 12-Jun 03:52 04:40 21:16 22:04 18:12
Thu, 13-Jun 03:52 04:40 21:17 22:05 18:13
Fri, 14-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:18 22:06 18:15
Sat, 15-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:18 22:06 18:15
Sun, 16-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:19 22:07 18:16
Mon, 17-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:19 22:07 18:16
Tue, 18-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:19 22:08 18:17
Wed, 19-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:20 22:08 18:17
Thu, 20-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:20 22:08 18:17
Fri, 21-Jun 03:51 04:39 21:20 22:09 18:18
Sat, 22-Jun 03:51 04:40 21:20 22:09 18:18
Sun, 23-Jun 03:52 04:40 21:21 22:09 18:17
Mon, 24-Jun 03:52 04:40 21:21 22:09 18:17
Tue, 25-Jun 03:52 04:41 21:21 22:09 18:17
Wed, 26-Jun 03:53 04:41 21:21 22:09 18:16
Thu, 27-Jun 03:53 04:41 21:21 22:09 18:16
Fri, 28-Jun 03:54 04:42 21:20 22:08 18:14
Sat, 29-Jun 03:55 04:43 21:20 22:08 18:13
Sun, 30-Jun 03:55 04:43 21:20 22:08 18:13
Mon, 01-Jul 03:56 04:44 21:20 22:07 18:11
Tue, 02-Jul 03:57 04:45 21:19 22:07 18:10
Wed, 03-Jul 03:58 04:45 21:19 22:06 18:08
Thu, 04-Jul 03:59 04:46 21:19 22:06 18:07
Fri, 05-Jul 04:00 04:47 21:18 22:05 18:05
Sat, 06-Jul 04:01 04:48 21:18 22:04 18:03
Sun, 07-Jul 04:02 04:49 21:17 22:04 18:02
Mon, 08-Jul 04:03 04:50 21:16 22:03 18:00
Tue, 09-Jul 04:04 04:51 21:16 22:02 17:58
Wed, 10-Jul 04:05 04:52 21:15 22:01 17:56
Thu, 11-Jul 04:06 04:53 21:14 22:00 17:54
Fri, 12-Jul 04:08 04:54 21:13 21:59 17:51
Sat, 13-Jul 04:09 04:55 21:12 21:58 17:49
Sun, 14-Jul 04:10 04:56 21:11 21:57 17:47
Mon, 15-Jul 04:12 04:57 21:10 21:55 17:43
Tue, 16-Jul 04:13 04:58 21:09 21:54 17:41
Wed, 17-Jul 04:15 04:59 21:08 21:53 17:38
Thu, 18-Jul 04:16 05:01 21:07 21:52 17:36
Fri, 19-Jul 04:18 05:02 21:06 21:50 17:32
Sat, 20-Jul 04:19 05:03 21:05 21:49 17:30
Sun, 21-Jul 04:21 05:05 21:04 21:47 17:26
Mon, 22-Jul 04:22 05:06 21:02 21:46 17:24
Tue, 23-Jul 04:24 05:07 21:01 21:44 17:20
Wed, 24-Jul 04:26 05:09 21:00 21:42 17:16
Thu, 25-Jul 04:27 05:10 20:58 21:41 17:14
Fri, 26-Jul 04:29 05:12 20:57 21:39 17:10
Sat, 27-Jul 04:31 05:13 20:55 21:37 17:06
Sun, 28-Jul 04:32 05:14 20:54 21:36 17:04
Mon, 29-Jul 04:34 05:16 20:52 21:34 17:00
Tue, 30-Jul 04:36 05:17 20:51 21:32 16:56
Wed, 31-Jul 04:38 05:19 20:49 21:30 16:52
Thu, 01-Aug 04:39 05:20 20:48 21:28 16:49
Fri, 02-Aug 04:41 05:22 20:46 21:26 16:45
Sat, 03-Aug 04:43 05:23 20:44 21:25 16:42
Sun, 04-Aug 04:45 05:25 20:42 21:23 16:38
Mon, 05-Aug 04:46 05:27 20:41 21:21 16:35
Tue, 06-Aug 04:48 05:28 20:39 21:19 16:31
Wed, 07-Aug 04:50 05:30 20:37 21:17 16:27
Thu, 08-Aug 04:52 05:31 20:35 21:14 16:22
Fri, 09-Aug 04:54 05:33 20:33 21:12 16:18
Sat, 10-Aug 04:55 05:34 20:32 21:10 16:15
Sun, 11-Aug 04:57 05:36 20:30 21:08 16:11
Mon, 12-Aug 04:59 05:38 20:28 21:06 16:07
Tue, 13-Aug 05:01 05:39 20:26 21:04 16:03
Wed, 14-Aug 05:03 05:41 20:24 21:02 15:59
Thu, 15-Aug 05:04 05:42 20:22 21:00 15:56
Fri, 16-Aug 05:06 05:44 20:20 20:57 15:51

Data: US Navy Observatory

Moonlight : Essex

Date Sunset Dusk Moon Rise Moon Set Dawn Sunrise % Full Max. Ht. Night Walk
Fri, 19-Apr 20:01 20:38 dusk dawn 05:16 05:52 100% 01:32 all night
Sat, 20-Apr 20:03 20:40 21:24 dawn 05:14 05:50 99% 02:24 before dawn
Sun, 21-Apr 20:05 20:42 22:40 dawn 05:11 05:48 95% 03:17 before dawn
Mon, 22-Apr 20:06 20:43 23:52 dawn 05:09 05:46 89% 04:10 before dawn
Tue, 23-Apr 20:08 20:45 00:56 dawn 05:07 05:44 82% 05:02 before dawn
Wed, 24-Apr 20:10 20:47 01:50 dawn 05:05 05:42 73% 05:54
Thu, 25-Apr 20:12 20:49 02:36 dawn 05:02 05:40 64% 06:44
Fri, 26-Apr 20:13 20:51 03:12 dawn 05:00 05:38 50% 07:32
Sat, 27-Apr 20:15 20:53 03:42 dawn 04:58 05:36 45% 08:18
Sun, 28-Apr 20:17 20:55 04:06 dawn 04:56 05:34 36% 09:02
Mon, 29-Apr 20:18 20:56 04:28 dawn 04:54 05:32 27% 09:45
Tue, 30-Apr 20:20 20:58 04:47 dawn 04:52 05:30 19% 10:28
Wed, 01-May 20:22 21:00 04:50 05:28 12%
Thu, 02-May 20:23 21:02 04:48 05:26 7%
Fri, 03-May 20:25 21:04 04:45 05:24 3%
Sat, 04-May 20:27 21:06 04:43 05:23 0%
Sun, 05-May 20:28 21:08 04:41 05:21 0%
Mon, 06-May 20:30 21:09 dusk 22:16 04:39 05:19 3% 14:18
Tue, 07-May 20:31 21:11 dusk 23:26 04:37 05:17 7% 15:12
Wed, 08-May 20:33 21:13 dusk 00:31 04:35 05:16 14% 16:08
Thu, 09-May 20:35 21:15 dusk 01:27 04:34 05:14 22% 17:06
Fri, 10-May 20:36 21:17 dusk 02:12 04:32 05:12 32% 18:04
Sat, 11-May 20:38 21:19 dusk 02:48 04:30 05:11 43% 19:01
Sun, 12-May 20:39 21:21 dusk 03:18 04:28 05:09 50% 19:56
Mon, 13-May 20:41 21:22 dusk 03:43 04:26 05:08 66% 20:49
Tue, 14-May 20:42 21:24 dusk 04:06 04:24 05:06 76% 21:41 after dusk
Wed, 15-May 20:44 21:26 dusk dawn 04:23 05:04 85% 22:31 all night
Thu, 16-May 20:46 21:28 dusk dawn 04:21 05:03 93% 23:22 all night
Fri, 17-May 20:47 21:29 dusk dawn 04:19 05:02 97% 00:12 all night
Sat, 18-May 20:48 21:31 dusk dawn 04:18 05:00 100% 01:04 all night
Sun, 19-May 20:50 21:33 dusk dawn 04:16 04:59 100% 01:57 all night
Mon, 20-May 20:51 21:35 22:40 dawn 04:14 04:58 97% 02:50 before dawn
Tue, 21-May 20:53 21:36 23:41 dawn 04:13 04:56 93% 03:43 before dawn
Wed, 22-May 20:54 21:38 00:31 dawn 04:11 04:55 87% 04:35 before dawn
Thu, 23-May 20:56 21:39 01:12 dawn 04:10 04:54 79% 05:24 before dawn
Fri, 24-May 20:57 21:41 01:44 dawn 04:09 04:53 71% 06:12
Sat, 25-May 20:58 21:43 02:11 dawn 04:07 04:52 62% 06:57
Sun, 26-May 20:59 21:44 02:33 dawn 04:06 04:51 50% 07:41
Mon, 27-May 21:01 21:46 02:53 dawn 04:05 04:50 43% 08:23
Tue, 28-May 21:02 21:47 03:11 dawn 04:03 04:49 34% 09:05
Wed, 29-May 21:03 21:49 03:29 dawn 04:02 04:48 25% 09:48
Thu, 30-May 21:04 21:50 03:48 dawn 04:01 04:47 17% 10:32
Fri, 31-May 21:06 21:51 04:00 04:46 10%
Sat, 01-Jun 21:07 21:53 03:59 04:45 5%
Sun, 02-Jun 21:08 21:54 03:58 04:44 1%
Mon, 03-Jun 21:09 21:55 03:57 04:44 0%
Tue, 04-Jun 21:10 21:56 dusk 22:21 03:56 04:43 1% 13:59
Wed, 05-Jun 21:11 21:58 dusk 23:22 03:56 04:42 5% 14:58
Thu, 06-Jun 21:12 21:59 dusk 00:12 03:55 04:42 12% 15:58
Fri, 07-Jun 21:13 22:00 dusk 00:52 03:54 04:41 20% 16:57
Sat, 08-Jun 21:13 22:01 dusk 01:24 03:54 04:41 30% 17:53
Sun, 09-Jun 21:14 22:02 dusk 01:50 03:53 04:40 41% 18:47
Mon, 10-Jun 21:15 22:03 dusk 02:13 03:53 04:40 50% 19:38
Tue, 11-Jun 21:16 22:03 dusk 02:34 03:52 04:40 64% 20:28
Wed, 12-Jun 21:16 22:04 dusk 02:55 03:52 04:40 74% 21:17
Thu, 13-Jun 21:17 22:05 dusk 03:18 03:51 04:39 83% 22:06 after dusk
Fri, 14-Jun 21:18 22:06 dusk 03:44 03:51 04:39 91% 22:57 after dusk
Sat, 15-Jun 21:18 22:06 dusk dawn 03:51 04:39 96% 23:48 all night
Sun, 16-Jun 21:19 22:07 dusk dawn 03:51 04:39 99% 00:40 all night
Mon, 17-Jun 21:19 22:07 dusk dawn 03:51 04:39 100% 01:33 all night
Tue, 18-Jun 21:19 22:08 22:24 dawn 03:51 04:39 99% 02:26 before dawn
Wed, 19-Jun 21:20 22:08 23:09 dawn 03:51 04:39 96% 03:16 before dawn
Thu, 20-Jun 21:20 22:08 23:45 dawn 03:51 04:39 91% 04:05 before dawn
Fri, 21-Jun 21:20 22:09 00:14 dawn 03:51 04:40 84% 04:51 before dawn
Sat, 22-Jun 21:20 22:09 00:38 dawn 03:52 04:40 77% 05:36 before dawn
Sun, 23-Jun 21:21 22:09 00:58 dawn 03:52 04:40 68% 06:18
Mon, 24-Jun 21:21 22:09 01:17 dawn 03:52 04:41 59% 07:00
Tue, 25-Jun 21:21 22:09 01:34 dawn 03:53 04:41 50% 07:42
Wed, 26-Jun 21:21 22:09 01:52 dawn 03:53 04:41 40% 08:25
Thu, 27-Jun 21:21 22:09 02:12 dawn 03:54 04:42 31% 09:10
Fri, 28-Jun 21:20 22:08 02:34 dawn 03:55 04:43 22% 09:57
Sat, 29-Jun 21:20 22:08 03:02 dawn 03:55 04:43 14% 10:49
Sun, 30-Jun 21:20 22:08 03:37 dawn 03:56 04:44 7% 11:45
Mon, 01-Jul 21:20 22:07 03:57 04:45 2%
Tue, 02-Jul 21:19 22:07 03:58 04:45 0%
Wed, 03-Jul 21:19 22:06 03:59 04:46 1%
Thu, 04-Jul 21:19 22:06 dusk 22:50 04:00 04:47 4% 14:46
Fri, 05-Jul 21:18 22:05 dusk 23:26 04:01 04:48 10% 15:45
Sat, 06-Jul 21:18 22:04 dusk 23:55 04:02 04:49 18% 16:41
Sun, 07-Jul 21:17 22:04 dusk 00:19 04:03 04:50 28% 17:35
Mon, 08-Jul 21:16 22:03 dusk 00:41 04:04 04:51 39% 18:25
Tue, 09-Jul 21:16 22:02 dusk 01:02 04:05 04:52 50% 19:15
Wed, 10-Jul 21:15 22:01 dusk 01:24 04:06 04:53 61% 20:04
Thu, 11-Jul 21:14 22:00 dusk 01:48 04:08 04:54 72% 20:53
Fri, 12-Jul 21:13 21:59 dusk 02:16 04:09 04:55 81% 21:43 after dusk
Sat, 13-Jul 21:12 21:58 dusk 02:50 04:10 04:56 88% 22:35 after dusk
Sun, 14-Jul 21:11 21:57 dusk 03:31 04:12 04:57 94% 23:27 after dusk
Mon, 15-Jul 21:10 21:55 dusk dawn 04:13 04:58 98% 00:19 all night
Tue, 16-Jul 21:09 21:54 dusk dawn 04:15 04:59 100% 01:10 all night
Wed, 17-Jul 21:08 21:53 dusk dawn 04:16 05:01 100% 01:59 all night
Thu, 18-Jul 21:07 21:52 22:16 dawn 04:18 05:02 98% 02:46 before dawn
Fri, 19-Jul 21:06 21:50 22:41 dawn 04:19 05:03 94% 03:31 before dawn
Sat, 20-Jul 21:05 21:49 23:03 dawn 04:21 05:05 89% 04:15 before dawn
Sun, 21-Jul 21:04 21:47 23:22 dawn 04:22 05:06 82% 04:56 before dawn
Mon, 22-Jul 21:02 21:46 23:40 dawn 04:24 05:07 74% 05:38
Tue, 23-Jul 21:01 21:44 23:57 dawn 04:26 05:09 65% 06:19
Wed, 24-Jul 21:00 21:42 00:16 dawn 04:27 05:10 56% 07:02
Thu, 25-Jul 20:58 21:41 00:36 dawn 04:29 05:12 50% 07:48
Fri, 26-Jul 20:57 21:39 01:00 dawn 04:31 05:13 36% 08:37
Sat, 27-Jul 20:55 21:37 01:31 dawn 04:32 05:14 26% 09:29
Sun, 28-Jul 20:54 21:36 02:10 dawn 04:34 05:16 17% 10:26
Mon, 29-Jul 20:52 21:34 03:01 dawn 04:36 05:17 10% 11:26
Tue, 30-Jul 20:51 21:32 04:06 dawn 04:38 05:19 4%
Wed, 31-Jul 20:49 21:30 04:39 05:20 1%
Thu, 01-Aug 20:48 21:28 04:41 05:22 0%
Fri, 02-Aug 20:46 21:26 dusk 21:55 04:43 05:23 3% 14:29
Sat, 03-Aug 20:44 21:25 dusk 22:21 04:45 05:25 8% 15:25
Sun, 04-Aug 20:42 21:23 dusk 22:45 04:46 05:27 16% 16:19
Mon, 05-Aug 20:41 21:21 dusk 23:07 04:48 05:28 25% 17:10
Tue, 06-Aug 20:39 21:19 dusk 23:29 04:50 05:30 36% 18:00
Wed, 07-Aug 20:37 21:17 dusk 23:52 04:52 05:31 50% 18:50
Thu, 08-Aug 20:35 21:14 dusk 00:19 04:54 05:33 58% 19:41
Fri, 09-Aug 20:33 21:12 dusk 00:51 04:55 05:34 68% 20:32
Sat, 10-Aug 20:32 21:10 dusk 01:30 04:57 05:36 77% 21:23 after dusk
Sun, 11-Aug 20:30 21:08 dusk 02:16 04:59 05:38 85% 22:15 after dusk
Mon, 12-Aug 20:28 21:06 dusk 03:10 05:01 05:39 92% 23:06 after dusk
Tue, 13-Aug 20:26 21:04 dusk 04:10 05:03 05:41 96% 23:55 after dusk
Wed, 14-Aug 20:24 21:02 dusk dawn 05:04 05:42 99% 00:43 all night
Thu, 15-Aug 20:22 21:00 dusk dawn 05:06 05:44 100% 01:29 all night
Fri, 16-Aug 20:20 20:57 21:08 dawn 05:08 05:46 99% 02:12 before dawn

Notes

  • The moon's phase or fracillum (percentage of the moon illuminated) doesn't vary much with location.
  • A full moon is not just bigger, its much brighter. A half moon ('50%') give less than 5% of the illumination of a full moon. You can walk with a half moon if its high in the sky (after dusk for a growing moon, before dawn for a shrinking moon).
  • Sky glow (light reflected by air or clouds) from nearby cities, and especially snow on the ground also effect light levels.
  • Times will vary a few minutes, as (i) these figures are for the centre of the county the walk is in, and, (ii) if there are hills on the horizon.
  • Of course, you need a cloudless night as well!
  • Data: US Navy Observatory